Thinkingshift.com stuff

May 19, 2010 at 9:42 pm 3 comments

I am “decommissioning” my website basically because this blog has far more readers. So I’m making all my thought pieces freely available in this post. Most of them are essays from a complexity perspective on various topics or they are articles/interviews I wrote for Image and Data Manager.  In no particular order, here they are: knock yourself out!

Victoria Ward & Kim Sbarcea

Rui Martins & Kim Sbarcea

Kim Sbarcea

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Entry filed under: Communities of Practice, Complexity, Leadership, Network theory, Useful resources. Tags: .

Achtung Google! NZ Spy Bill

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrew Hill  |  May 21, 2010 at 12:34 am

    Serendipity – or Synchronicity?

    I just read your thought piece ‘Is God Online’.

    I have returned to my theme of reflection as a major topic in my studies on Online Pedagogies (I have strongly objected to the semantics of Pedagogies when used in Online Learning – it’s seems from research that it will never work effectively unless we look at it from a Heutagogical perspective).

    But back to the theme – so much resonated in that piece regarding the ‘collective unconscious’ as we connect with ideas and values outside our conscious world through Cyberspace. Having the respect to value diverse views, to open ourselves to a Vygotskys’ wider Zone of Proximal Development is to gain insights from the ‘Wisdom of Crowds’ (the paradox being that you need to be an individual to benefit the collective).

    Our cognitive biases and aversion to dissonance mean that learning about our learning is becoming an ever increasingly valuable skill in a connected society. I would argue that reflective skills are one of our most valuable tools in enabling us to truly change.

    But enough of my ego, what was really creepy was that I have recently been introduced to Teilhard de Chardin by my teacher, albeit in a (seemingly) totally unrelated context. Your paper helped close that loop.

    And here’s an opinion piece that echoes some of your predictions, which may find interesting reading:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/05/16/opinion/16friedman.html?scp=1&sq=friedman%20Lydia&st=cse

    Reply
  • 2. thinkingshift  |  May 21, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    Greetings from NZ Andrew! glad you liked the piece. I plan to revisit this piece now that I have a bit more time on my hands and will post an update eventually.
    What are you studying now?
    Thx for the link too, will follow it up.
    Kim

    Reply
  • 3. Andrew Hill  |  May 21, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    Hi Kim,

    I’m studying Learning and Development via distance Ed at USQ focusing on the ID and Online and Distributed Learning stream. I thought that if I was going to inflict my Instructional Designs on others I should at least feel the pain of being on the other side of a Learning Management System – I was sick of being told to create digital versions of correspondence courses and then being told they don’t work, gotta love being set KPI’s that are not supported by your Managers.

    Much food for thought in this space right now, and your paper reminded me of Thoreaus quote about the appropriateness of building castles in the air – you’ve just got to build the foundations under them.

    Go the Crusaders! I trust you now have been introduced.

    Cheers,
    Andrew

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

