Tiffany Outlet bites the dust
November 10, 2011 at 8:05 am thinkingshift 13 comments
Well, I’d LOVE to lay claim to this – seems that the shonky Chinese website I complained about, Tiffany Outlet, has bitten the dust. Actually, it looks like the real Tiffany is suing the asses off a ton of shonky commercial websites, not just Tiffany Outlet. I’ve been campaigning against Tiffany Outlet I admit – via this blog, via Twitter and so on. I still have the email address for Tiffany Outlet – must send them an email to say “looks like you’re toast”. But I’m sure I’m just one of many poor sods that were taken in by shonky counterfeiters.
This is what the website of Tiffany Outlet used to look like:
And this is what it looks like now:
Notice anything? Oooh yeah baby: looks like Tiffany Outlet has been served Notice and the site has been taken down. If you go to the site, you’ll see a whole host of legal documents. As someone with a law degree, I naturally waded my way through them to find the cause of action. And here’s the gist:
- The plaintiff, Tiffany (NJ) LLC, filed an action against various unknown business entities who operate websites that advertise and sell counterfeit jewelry allegedly bearing Tiffany’s registered trademarks;
- A number of these entities also incorporate “Tiffany” into their website domain names;
- It seems the named defendants (who appear in Schedule A) are caught within the Judicial District of Nevada – presumably because they were distributing or selling into that jurisdiction via interactive commercial websites;
- Willful and intentional infringement and counterfeiting of Tiffany’s trademarks allegedly took place in total disregard of Tiffany’s rights and have taken place despite the defendants knowledge that their use of Tiffany’s trademarks was and is in direct contravention of Tiffany’s rights;
- The defendant’s registration of several domain names, which incorporate at least one of Tiffany’s registered trademarks, constitutes cyberpiracy in violation of 15 U.S.C. § 1125(d); and
- Irreparable injury to Tiffany has been caused by the defendant’s unlawful activities.
There appear to be 223 defendants Tiffany is hot on the trail of. I checked out the websites of about 20 of them and they now all display the Notice To Defendants.
I need to look into this further and found out the current state of the lawsuit. But I just had to do a quick post because I’m very pleased that Tiffany is taking action against shonky Chinese counterfeiters. I think the cheap knock-offs we’ve all no doubt bought in China, Hong Kong, Thailand etc probably brought us momentary satisfaction but, let’s face it, denied the rights of the legitimate maker of the product. Time has come for the knockoff sites and counterfeiters to bite the dust.
Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: counterfeiters, cyberpiracy, Tiffany, Tiffany Outlet, Tiffanys, trademark infringement.
Made in New Zealand







1.
Sara | December 9, 2011 at 8:50 pm
Apparently the following site is still up, hopefully they will be taken down soon. http://www.tiffanysoutletusa.com/
2.
thinkingshift | December 10, 2011 at 7:41 pm
I can’t find them in the list of defendants – but hopefully Tiffanys will be after them soon! Thanks for the comment.
3.
John | December 22, 2011 at 1:19 pm
I just got shafted on this site. Wish I had done my research before, they are clearly referencing the real tiffany site with hyperlinks, etc.
It is a wolf in sheep’s skin for sure.
4.
floridabrit@tampabay.rr.com | December 28, 2011 at 3:29 am
Been on these sites just now. Thank goodness I checked your blog. However all the sites are back up. Scrolling down I am seeing at least 20 or so! I think they are impossible to shut down. Spoke with a rep in Tiffamy store (Tampa, Florida) and they are very aware at store level.
5.
thinkingshift | December 28, 2011 at 5:06 am
The site I had the “issue” with was http://www.tiffany-outletsale.com
I just searched “Tiffany Outlet” on Google and found http://www.tiffanyoutletsales.com
May or may not be the same site – they might have altered their domain name.
http://www.tiffany-outletsale.com still has the Notice to Defendants up.
So everyone – BE REALLY AWARE of what you’re doing. The sites masquerading as Tiffanys are crooks and opportunists – they will take your money and run. Only buy from the real Tiffanys – yeah sure might cost more but it’s the real deal.
Personally, I hope that the real Tiffanys doesn’t give up and hangs all these crooks out to dry.
6.
Arlene | January 2, 2012 at 3:58 am
Another site thats up is http://www.tiffany-cooutletus.com
7.
Jolene | January 3, 2012 at 7:53 pm
Has anyone tried to submit a chargeback on the credit card? Unfortunately, my son is becoming the latest victim to this scam.
8.
thinkingshift | January 4, 2012 at 3:23 am
I’m in hot contest with my credit card company over the whole thing. This has been going on for some months. I’m just thankful those crooks didn’t charge my credit card twice – because the first order on the screen didn’t work, so I had to do it again.
Everyone out there just needs to be aware of these SCAM SITES and CROOKS masquerading as Tiffanys. It’s not worth trying to get something on the cheap just so you can say you have a Prada or Louis Vuitton or something from Tiffanys. What you get is RUBBISH, CRAP and then the crooks treat you like you’re an idiot.
They offered to refund me $15.00 – I decided to go public with the whole thing and warn anyone I could.
I’m very glad that so many people are reading my posts about Tiffany Outlet and leaving comments.
9.
JC | February 9, 2012 at 8:34 am
Sigh. My husband got cheated trying to get me a Valentine Gift. I wrote to them asking for full refund.
Btw, this is the site. http://tiffanysg.com/
Please be warned.
SIGH.
10.
thinkingshift | February 14, 2012 at 8:42 pm
This is why I get SO annoyed at these scam artists and fraudsters. Your husband was trying to buy you something lovely for Valentine’s Day (full brownie points to him) – only to be duped by these charlatans. I doubt you’ll get a refund but I’m hoping you do. Thx for leaving the site URL. Be warned everyone. We have to do our very best to expose these shoddy websites and their shoddy goods that are trying to sell off to unsuspecting people like you and me!!
11.
June | February 15, 2012 at 7:17 am
Hi, unfortunately they did not respond to my email. I’m guessing they take order from us then order from China. Cuz e parcel address is from China. Sigh I told my husband I’d never wear a fake. Hahaha!
12.
Heidi | February 12, 2012 at 11:06 am
Thank you for the warning. I was looking for a Paloma Picasso daisy earrings and the Tiffany outlet website came up. I found pictures of the earrings but they seemed really cheap! That is when I goggled to see if Tiffany really has an outlet store…then I found your postings. I am glad I did not become a victim of their scam.
13.
Paris Thomas | February 18, 2012 at 9:29 pm
I looked on there site and decided to email to ask questions I asked if it was real would the Tiffany&co cleaner work on there stuff as well I got a reply from them simply saying fuck you lol … Im happy I’m a google head and decided not to order or give them squat!
> To: fashionalman@hotmail.com
> Subject: Message from tiffanycooutlet-shop
> Date: Sat, 18 Feb 2012 18:36:24 +0300
> From: fashionalman@hotmail.com
> Fuck you
> From: Paris Thomas
> Email: paris_thomas22@yahoo.com
>
> ——————————————————
>
> Is the silver real? If I need to clean it can I take to the tiffany and co
> store?
>
> ——————————————————
>
> Office Use Only:
> From: Paris Thomas
> Email: paris_thomas22@yahoo.com
> Login Name: Not logged in
> Login Email: Not logged in
> IP Address: 99.97.116.12 – 99.97.116.12
> Host Address: OFFICE_IP_TO_HOST_ADDRESS
> Date and Time: Sat Feb 18 2012 18:36:24 MSK