One small step into the blogosphere

January 26, 2007 at 1:55 am 2 comments

Cheetah feeding NamibiaWelcome to the ThinkingShift blog! this is my first foray into the blogosphere after considering for some time whether I have anything at all to say. I’m going to use this blog to write about or comment on all sorts of things that interest me – sustainability; complexity; civilisation; history; knowledge management; coaching – to name just a few things. I also want to share with you many of my photos that I’ve taken of animals and people in the countries I’ve visited – warning, amateur photographer:)- My main interest at the moment is how we can make our world – the pale blue dot as Carl Sagan called it – a safe place for future generations. I certainly don’t have the answers on this one and thank goodness we have commited scientists and figures like Al Gore and Tim Flannery who are raising our awareness of the perils of climate change. But I hope to share with you some of the insights and ideas I glean from my reading and thinking.
Not sure I’ll be able to post daily – I’m aiming for weekly at the moment. In the meantime, here’s a photo I took in Namibia of my favourite animal, the cheetah. And here’s a sobering statistic when we consider the decline of many exquisite species – in the last 500 years, human activity has forced 844 species to extinction. In the early 1900s, cheetah numbers worldwide were perhaps as high as 100,000. Today, scientists estimate as few as 12,000 remain.
Of course this means another “tragedy of the commons” in this case, our collective tragedy of loss of genetic diversity.
Until my next post!

Entry filed under: Reflections.

IPCC: “we told you so”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave Snowden  |  February 17, 2007 at 4:59 am

    Hi Kim, pleased to see that you too have fallen for the addiction

    Reply
  • 2. thinkingshift  |  February 17, 2007 at 5:02 am

    Hi there Dave

    Yes, despite attempts at resistance, I’ve learnt that resistance is indeed futile :)-
    best
    Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

