My media consumption diet

March 8, 2007 at 8:00 am 1 comment

Tyler having a quick lie-downI knew this day would come – the moment I decided to blog, I knew someday, somehow I’d be tagged. The culprit is Patrick Lambe of Straits Knowledge and I’ve been asked to talk about my media consumption diet. Not sure if this means I’m gaining or losing weight from all the stuff I read, but here goes:

Communication: I dislike being available 24/7 and I don’t even wear a watch as I don’t like to be constricted by time. Consequently, I can sometimes be elusive. I don’t like email and a sign of getting older is when I mutter “in the good old days before email…”. But like most of us, I have to use email and do so, but prefer to pick up the phone. I use Skype for family and friends far away. Contrary to what I’ve said so far, I do like sms (not sure why) and sometimes get caught up in abbreviated language and have to catch myself when I spell “tomorrow” as 2mrw in some official email I may be sending. I have resisted blogs and blogging for some time, considering them to be self-referential and part of our ongoing obsession with “self” – but have finally succumbed. I think in fact Patrick may be to blame for this – I recall an email to me saying “why aren’t you blogging?”.

I particularly dislike mobile phones and wish I could transport them to some distant planet. Voicemail is a Godsend for those of us who don’t like the irksome, high pitched tones of mobiles.

Mmmm…well, so far I sound like some Luddite :)- so onto more interesting stuff.

Books: I have a voracious appetite for books (this I’m sure is the weight gaining part of the media consumption diet!). And as I travel 4 hours per day to work (yes, really) I have plenty of quality time to spend with my silent friends. I tend not to read fiction as I am more interested in anything historical or curious and particularly interested in anything on complexity science. Having said this, my all time favourite book that I re-read regularly is Lawrence Durrell’s The Alexandria Quartet.

Recently read books are: The Fabric of the Cosmos by Brian Greene; Pip Pip, a book about time by Jay Griffiths; Quantum Enigma: Physics Encounters Consciousness by Rosemblum & Kuttner; Buried Treasure by Victoria Finlay, a book about jewels and their social meaning; Parallel Worlds by Michio Kaku, about alternative universes (probably still in my Sliders phase); No Place to Hide by Robert O’Harrow, a book about the hidden web of surveillance (sadly, I’m a bit of a conspiracy theorist); and The Coffee House by Markman Ellis, fabulous book on the cultural history of the coffee house.

Currently reading: Co-Active Coaching by Whitworth, Kimsey-House & Sandahl; (re-reading) The Corrosion of Character by Richard Sennett; Critical Mass: How One Thing Leads to Another by Philip Ball; and the weighty tome, WorldChanging: a User’s Guide for the 21st Century by Alex Steffen (ed).

I also read anything by archaeologist, Joyce Tyldesley, and anything that has to do with the Spice Trade or exotic spices.

This list probably confirms any thoughts you had about me:)-

TV: I don’t tend to watch too much TV but when I do it is selective: anything Law & Order; and my all time favourite, The West Wing. I do like the old classic TV movies from the 1930s and 1940s, and any science fiction film from the 1950s, but particularly the 1951 film, The Day the Earth Stood Still, with Michael Rennie – wonderfully captures the dire warnings of the atomic age of the 1950s and the call for humanity to choose peace over being blown up!

And of course, anything Star Trek – I once showed up at a Star Trek convention complete with Spock ears.

Music: I have 2 iPods – one for travel and one for the treadmill (where I feel like a hamster going round and round). I’m in a 1960s, 1970s and 1980s classics phase: Steppenwolf; Simple Minds; Prince; KC & the Sunshine Band; Free; Led Zeppelin. I also like rap (courtesy of my 16 year old step-son) and Sneaky Sound System. I listen to contemporary African music. I don’t really like classical music but one piece I do like is Claude Debussy’s Clair de Lune and anything by British composer, Vaughan Williams.

Films: I watch a few of the “Hollywood Blockbusters” occasionally, but I prefer reading. Recent films I saw on a plane were Apocalypto and Snakes on a Plane, which simply made me paranoid about what cargo was on my plane. One recent film I did go and see voluntarily was Blood Diamond (and not just to eye off Leonard Di Caprio).

Magazines/journals: I read New Scientist and when I can Archaeology; National Geographic; and Scientific American. Occasionally, I’ll peruse InStyle magazine to check out whether my style of dressing is still caught up in some tragic 1980s type decade.

Well, that’s about it. Not sure if I’ve covered all required bases and I’ll have to think about the 5 poor victims I’ll tag – most of them have already been tagged by Patrick Lambe, Dave Snowden etc etc. But one name I’ll nominate now is David Rymer (advance apologies David) :)-

The whole thing has given me a headache so I think I’ll go have a quick lie-down like Tyler, the fearless collie, who appears in the photo accompanying this post.

Entry filed under: Curiousity, Reflections.

How to get started in CSR A picture says a thousand words

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Andrew  |  July 12, 2007 at 7:12 am

    great blogs.. thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

