What you don’t know about me

December 22, 2007 at 12:10 am Leave a comment

Kim photoDave Snowden has tagged me to reveal eight things that you don’t know about me. I think he’s done this to distract me from my ravings about the surveillance society not because he really wants to know anything about me! I’ve done this sort of thing before here and here. So if you’re interested, knock yourself out and have a read. I find this sort of thing really difficult firstly because I dislike talking about myself and secondly because I’ve sort of said it all in other posts. But here goes.

  1. I was once the lead singer for a heavy-metal rock band (alas, not a famous rock band just a high-school band). I can still belt out a pretty good version of Stairway to Heaven or Black Dog. And given my Welsh ancestry, I should be able to because the Welsh are darn good singers.
  2. I’m a bit of a twitcher. I like nothing better than sitting on my balcony waiting for poor unsuspecting birds (of the feathered variety) to come along so I can whip out my Nikon D40 and snap them. Usually, they are smarter than me and fly off before I can snap them.
  3. I’m a very amateur photographer – most of the photos accompanying posts on the ThinkingShift blog are taken by me. Mainly I snap flowers because I love their colours and elegance.
  4. I’m an only child and according to people who know me well, generally speaking I don’t display marked “only child” tendencies, although I do tend to be a bit of a loner. One great friend would tell you the opposite – that I’m “such an only child”. An only child’s dilemma is to be raised in a unique social setting and according to Jung, Skinner et al due to this social setting you either become an introvert or extrovert. Because you have no siblings, if you want to make friends, you gotta be a bit of an extrovert, otherwise, you end up introverted and focusing on your own thoughts. How did I turn out? Well, although by nature I’m quiet and keep my thoughts generally to myself, when I need to be I can be extroverted, flamboyant, demanding, pushy, haughty and OTT (or so friends and previous work colleagues have told me).
  5. I have a number of skeletons in the family closet – nothing sordid though. My uncle was once the Prime Minister of New Zealand. My great-grandmother founded the Lyons Cafes in London during the 1800s – not quite sure about the name as I’ve heard them referred to as Lyons Tea Shop or Lyons Corner Houses. I’m apparently distantly related to the Welsh actor, Richard Burton. A number of relatives in the 1800s and early 1900s were thespians, which probably explains why I have a tendency towards the dramatic :)-
  6. I have a Masters in Chaos and Complexity.
  7. I collect costume jewellery mainly from the 1940s and 1950s, but also collect bakelite from the 1930s.
  8. And finally…shock, gasp, horror….I was this close to being expelled from school because of my tendency to “wag school” on a regular basis. I can reveal this now only because my parents have passed on, otherwise they’d kill me even now if they knew the extent to which I was always in trouble in high school.

So that’s it. Dull and boring but it does prove that I read Dave’s blog on a regular basis. I’m now supposed to tag some other unsuspecting bloggers but frankly the ones I’d nominate have all been tagged. Except maybe for David Rymer – are you there David? And the anonymous blogger behind newish blog, Corporate Lunacy, which follows the real-life transformation of a team. Over to you guys!

Entry filed under: Reflections.

White House tweaks the truth? On uniqueness and being different

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

