Happy Anniversary ThinkingShift!

January 26, 2008 at 2:00 am 4 comments

Kim photoOne year ago today. What were you doing? I was toying around with the idea of starting this blog. And so I started ThinkingShift one year ago today – January 26, 2007. I didn’t realise it at the time, but I started the ThinkingShift blog on Australia Day. Good timing, even if I didn’t realise it then.

It’s been a great year. I’ve managed to upset quite a few people on social networks – the climate change naysayers particularly. Matt Moore has outed me for having “something of an obsession with the uses & abuses of surveillance technology”. And I’ve collected a lot of LOLCats obsessed people and a few alien believers along the way.

I’ve had over 82,000 visitors in the last 12 months, which is about 6, 800 visits per month. Thanks to everyone who’s been a regular reader, has left comments or emailed me suggesting topics. I’m way behind on a few of these special posts for particular readers, but it will happen!

So, I thought I would look over what have been the most popular topics and photos over the last year. What have people most enjoyed? Well, the photo that has been looked at the most is this little fellow:

National Geographic image

An unusual species of flying fox recently discovered on Mindoro island in the Philippines, not long after it was said not to exist.

This cutie was closely followed by these two.

Flickr photo from heyjules45 publicMax and Tyler photo

The first is a squirrel clearly chilling out and the second is of Max. Lots of people have emailed me asking why collies appear regularly on ThinkingShift and are there two collies or is there just one? Well, to clear up the mystery: the photo above is of Max, the wonder collie. And the photo below is of Tyler, Max’s brother and top dog.

Tyler in aristocratic pose

Max and Tyler belong to a great friend of mine but I count them as my godchildren 🙂

The top post was ThinkingShift Species Watch number 3 on the top 10 animals that are about to disappear due to human encroachment, deforestation or loss of habitat. This was closely followed by a post on privacy and surveillance (yeah, I’m not alone!), which outlined the disturbing piece of US legislation known as the “Thought Crime Bill”. In fact, mostly any post I do on privacy and surveillance attracts good readership, so hopefully that means I’m not the only person concerned about these issues. The most controversial post (which had me accused of being a Neo-Nazi) was Creeping Fascism, a post that had me in an email tussle with some 18 year old dude in the US.

You may have noticed that I’m not doing daily posts at the moment. This is largely because I have taken up photography again and been sidetracked by participating in various photography groups on Flickr and practising with my new Nikon camera. My current photographic obsession is with urban fragments: graffiti, urban art, decaying buildings, peeling paint, abandoned objects. I might try to do some sort of photo journal approach this year.

But recent emails have asked me to follow-up on special topics, one I particularly wish to get my teeth into. The question to me was “Why is it that people don’t seem concerned about surveillance and eroding privacy?”. Yep, good question; I ask the same one. Another one was: “Does increased surveillance mean a decline in democracy?”. So I’ll get onto these questions and keep bringing you interesting, curious, bizarre or amusing things.

Meanwhile, happy Australia Day to all Aussie ThinkingShift readers. And to all my international readers, I leave you today with a photo that I recently took. I was lucky to capture this superb butterfly who was literally waiting on a flower camera-ready. He was very patient with me while I fumbled around trying to get my best shot. I suspect he’s had many an amateur photographer desperately snapping away!

Kim photo butterfly

Entry filed under: Photography, Reflections.

Volcano, Mayans or pandemic? Skittish Sydney

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Max & Tyler (the Collies)  |  January 26, 2008 at 6:36 am

    Happy Anniversary, Auntie Babe!
    Thanks for making us famous on your blog. Collies are largely misunderstood, and there is currently a global shortage caused by an obsession with breakfast-sized white yappy Paris Hilton so-called “dogs”. Mum is encouraging us to start a blog to bring this to the world’s attention, but we’re just not obsessed enough about surveillance to attract your readership. However, we are concerned with (i) people who don’t stop and admire us on our walks; (ii) little kids who screech and want to grab our fur (dangerous critters), and (iii) no walks on rainy days.
    Wishing you another great blog year. The boys

    Reply
  • 2. thinkingshift  |  January 26, 2008 at 6:56 am

    Dear Max & Tyler
    I see you are vigilant collies reading ThinkingShift. I think that all surveillance cameras should be trained on the two of you constantly so that the world can see you both in all your glory. Your mum should start a blog for you as it’s a “collie-starved world” indeed. Here’s to 2008 and more collies everywhere! Collies rule.
    Your auntie

    Reply
  • 3. Ohlala  |  January 26, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Happy Anniversary TS!!!

    Thank you very much for your articles. I have enjoyed reading your blog over the last 12 months. The variety of your blog is very benificial to me and give me many ideas. I sometime forwarded your CSR articles to my colleague since they could use them for their CSR works.

    Though I rarely posted comment on you blog, I always agree with you especially the privacy issue. Keep posting….

    Thx again.
    PS your blog also inspired me to start my own blog.

    Reply
  • 4. thinkingshift  |  January 26, 2008 at 9:23 am

    thank you Ohlala and I’m glad you’ve found reading TS blog to be of interest. And great news that you started your own blog – I hope it’s going well! Expect more in 2008 on CSR, privacy and other “hot topics”.
    Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

