Are you hip and arty?

February 1, 2008 at 2:00 am 3 comments

I’ve been a Mac user since way back when. The only time I’ve used PCs is in organisations I’ve worked in and that’s only been a recent thing as I spent the 1990s working in law firms that had Macs. I’m extremely fond of my MacBook and if they’d just make it in hot pink, I’d be even happier. What makes me choose a Mac over a PC?

My mother was an artist. She shipped me off to an art school when I was 7 years old until I was about 14 or 15 when I rebelled. Every Thursday after school and every Saturday morning, while my friends were out having fun, there I was with paint brush in hand wondering why on earth I couldn’t get that Monet look.

I’ve dabbled in photography since I was about 10 or 12. My dad was a keen photographer and we’d go out together snapping away having father/daughter quality time. I’ve recently taken up photography again. So I’ve always thought of myself as having an “artistic streak”. And have you ever noticed that Mac users tend to be architects, graphic designers, ad agencies (arty types) and people who you might classify as “different”? Of course, the ease with which Macs can handle graphics far outweighs a sluggish PC IMHO, but now there is proof that Mac users are…well, yes superior arty, hip, creative groovers. I knew it! There IS such a thing as a “Mac mindset”.

Mindset Media has just released a profile of Mac users. After surveying 7500 users, those who have a Mac were found to be “more liberal, less modest and more assured of their superiority than the population at large.” People who are highly open minded or, in Mindset Media language ‘Openness 5s’, are 60% more likely than the general population to have purchased a Mac. Openness 5s are people who “seek rich, varied and novel experiences, and who believe that imagination and intellectual curiosity contribute to a life well lived”. Mac aficionados are highly receptive to their own inner feelings too and shun dogmatism, which means they “disdain so-called moral authorities, especially the conservative kin”. And Mac users consider themselves exceptional people.

I’m usually against any form of profiling but in this case I have no problems with being profiled as arty and hip. And it’s certainly cooler to be different and not one of those PC sheep 🙂 So if you’re a Mac user, now you know. It’s been confirmed for you. You are indeed arty, creative and curious. If not downright exceptional. So enjoy your day in confidence!
Sources: CIO Blog and PC World.

Entry filed under: Computers, Fun stuff.

The Bible, SNA and maps The sky trust

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. creativespark  |  February 1, 2008 at 9:30 am

    My parents use a Mac. They’re 67 and 72. I think they slipped through the cracks of the survey 😉
    I read yesterday that it’s more insidious than you think… there’s a full length movie coming out… i kid you not.

    =) Marc

    Reply
  • 2. lol  |  February 1, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    >There IS such a thing as a “Mac mindset”.

    Yes, there is a “Mac mindset”, and it typically comes across to everyone as arrogance. The things that you quote often are turned into wedges some Mac fans like to drive between Apple and non-apple people, in an effort to feel superior to Windows users.

    The PC world article you linked to details openness 5 as people “more assured of their own superiority than the population at large”. The illusion of superiority, is not something good.

    I know some Mac users love to wave their false sense of superiority over the rest of the population. Please think of me, your fellow Mac owner, before you go reinforcing the image of me that people get when all they know about me is the brand of my computer. The image that I am an arrogant; aloof; holier-than-thou prick.

    Reply
  • 3. thinkingshift  |  February 1, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    You do realise lol that the post was “tongue-in-cheek”?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

