There’s a story…

March 20, 2008 at 2:00 am 3 comments

Kim photoFirst of all, if you celebrate Easter, happy Easter to all ThinkingShift readers. To make us smile, here is a photo I took of Max, the wonder collie, who has found considerable fame on Flickr. He is in his “ain’t I just too cute!” pose and I’ve turned him into a LOLDog (yep, there’s LOLDogs as well as LOLCats).

But on another note, here’s a couple of very different photos I took a few weeks ago.

I was out in Sydney looking for photo opportunities – I usually take photos of old buildings, abandoned stuff, decaying stuff – stuff you wouldn’t normally like to take a photo of. But on this day, I spotted this old woman with “her children”. The sight of her has made an enormous impact on me – who is she? is she homeless? what has been her life story? what is her current story? Very clearly, she loves pigeons. I understand that she feeds them every day in a major urban park.

As we all tuck into chocolate bunnies and eggs over Easter, I wonder what this woman will be doing and what her life is like.

Entry filed under: Photography, Reflections.

Experience doesn’t always count Urban fragment 1

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cairo  |  March 28, 2008 at 5:41 am

    Hey, just wanted to let you know that I love the photo of the pigeon woman with the birds fliying around her. I’d like to use it for future painting inspiration, is that ok? Happy to credit the anonymour thinking shift or the person behind it… Let me know.

    Reply
  • 2. Cairo  |  March 28, 2008 at 5:43 am

    there is a typo in my last comment, help!

    BTW, I don’t know how, but I don’t have your email address, please send it to me so that I can invite you to my exhibition. Thnx

    Reply
  • 3. thinkingshift  |  March 28, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Hey there Cairo
    See you in NZ soon, but in the meantime, would be delighted if you would like to use my “pigeon woman” photo as inspiration for one of your fabulous paintings. My email is k.v.sbarcea@thinkingshift.com
    send me that invite, would love to come to your exhibition!
    Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

