Confessions of a brand slave 2

March 28, 2008 at 10:08 am 3 comments

Bouganvillia in ThailandI feel like a roving reporter! I’m here in Hong Kong with a brief moment between conference speaking, tutorials and taking photos. So, dear reader, thought I’d report in! Thanks for the wonderful comments to my “brand slave” post of the other day. I met someone yesterday at the HK conference who told me they read the ThinkingShift blog every day but never comment. I asked why and the response was they just wished to learn. Okay by me! I suspect I have a number of readers just like this lady.

So…how am I going in Hong Kong? Well, the day before the conference, I took myself off to Harbour City – gigantic mall of nothing but designer brands. I thought this would be a very good test for me in my new guise as anti-brand Kim. It was tough, let me tell you. I was either going to hyperventilate at the sight of all the luxury goods we don’t get in Australia or faint from the pressure of it all!

I checked out a few handbags; looked at some designer fashions and then……something happened that really propelled me run out of the mall. In came a gaggle of American tourists (would that be a gaggle, a hoard, a bunch??). Women with husbands in tow. Ooohing and aahing over a particular brand pair of jeans and how they simply MUST be seen in those back in the good old US of A. One of the women said “Oh Jean will be SO jealous that we have the very latest look”. Gasp! I threw them a look – they didn’t notice!

Then in tottered some Japanese tourists. They had been to the Hello Kitty! shop and were laden down with goods. They also oohed and aahed. Time for me to high tail it out of the shopping mall as I could feel the pressure mounting. So….I took off outside and…was met with the most glorious view of the Star Ferry terminal against a backdrop of glittering skycrapers towering up towards the clouds. Photos, photos and more photos! Within 5 minutes, I was feeling so much better.

Yesterday, was the all-day conference, so that kept me out of the shops. I had the pleasure of hearing Dave Snowden talk about Web 2.0 – he was his usual engaging and articulate self. And I met Leif Edvinsson for the first time and will help him set up his own blog.

So tomorrow and Sunday are my big tests. Two days free. I have planned a photographic expedition and will try to take shots of people. Still reluctant to do this (yep, privacy issues) but I’m going to look at this place through a different lens.

Will report in again soon!

Entry filed under: Brands, Conferences, Reflections.

Urban fragment 2 Brand resurrection

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ohlala  |  March 28, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    I’m looking forward to seeing your nice photos from HK.
    🙂

    Reply
  • 2. David  |  March 29, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Mate, you haven’t surfed the big brand breakers until you hit the beach in Dubai’s Wafi City or Mall of the Emirates.

    PS. Brits, Americans, all just as bad – marketing transcends culture!

    Reply
  • 3. thinkingshift  |  March 30, 2008 at 1:20 am

    Mate? David since when have you called me mate? what is Dubai doing to you? keep away from The Brands!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

