New Zealand sojourn

April 16, 2008 at 2:20 am 3 comments

I seem to be doing a lot of “sojourning” lately. A brief trip to Hong Kong recently to speak at a conference and I’m just back from 3 days in my beloved New Zealand – Wellington – where I gave an international address on social media at the 6th Annual Information Management summit. I’ve spoken at 5 of these summits, missing out last year as I had to pull out at the last minute, damn.

Now, the really interesting thing about this conference was not me speaking! Nope, it was experiencing social media (the very thing I was yapping about) in action. Because as I was speaking, I was being live-blogged. About 15 mins into my session I became aware that two people in the audience were furiously typing away. And then it twigged: I’m being live-blogged, gulp. Here I was talking about social media (such as blogs) and how you can make connections based on what is of relevance to you or how our private identities and what we have to say is increasingly blurring with public space – and wham, within seconds, two summaries of what I was going on about were available on two blogs.

So thanks to Cairo Walker and Michael Sampson, I can spare you my own summary of this conference. You can read Cairo’s summation here and Michael’s here. Both Cairo and Michael have summarised other sessions from the 2-day conference.

Take the time to check out both blogs by the way. Cairo is a REALLY talented artist and just two amongst her paintings that I’m loving are here and here. This girl has talent with a capital T!  I met Michael for the first time at the conference but am impressed by his blog Effective Collaboration. There’s a wealth of information on his blog from white papers on enterprise collaboration and virtual teams to daily reports.

Entry filed under: Conferences, Information management, Knowledge Management, Useful resources.

How curious! The world through my eyes

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michael Sampson  |  April 18, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    It was great to meet you Kim … and to observe and hear about your passion for how they tools can be used effectively within organizations.

    All the best!
    M.

    Reply
  • 2. Cairo  |  April 18, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Thanks for the lovely words, so nice to catch you in Wellington. Your presentation was a treat as ever! I am looking forward to seeing more photographs. The new direction incorporating images of people are particularly intriguing and engaging, there’s a story in each of them beyond the surface.

    Reply
  • 3. thinkingshift  |  April 18, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Thx Cairo 🙂 Michael, I’ve subscribed to your great blog, keep it coming!
    Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

