How do you feel today?

May 8, 2008 at 2:00 am 2 comments

It’s one of those synchronicity things. Over the last week or so, I’ve come across Moonri.se several times, with people going into a twitter about it. As far I can see, it’s Twitter for those who wish to also tell us how they feel. At first, I thought Twitter was for the geeky types who like to demonstrate to all and sundry that they are cool, awesome (take your pick of the latest word) when it comes to what’s new in technology. I still can’t be bothered with tweets. Basically, it would limit me to 140 characters and there’s no way I can tackle privacy issues or control my rants to 140 characters! And who could really care where I am or what I’m doing (except me). But…I can get Twitter and I think (for those who can tweet succinctly) it’s pretty cool.

But Moonri.se – early days for me, but I’m not getting this need to display the emotions. It seems to be a social network for feelings. You can post photos or videos along with your feelings. Guess you could do that on your blog – hey, having a crappy day, here’s a photo. But with a blog, the fan base has to know of you and come to you (where are you fans?). With a social network, it’s the hive, the collective – and you congregate together.

So I checked out Moonri.se and here’s what it says in the About section:

Feelings matter the most, they make us human. In years to come, you remember your feelings – and you remember great moments in your life. At some sites, you can post whatever you want, and you end up posting too much. When you look back in years to come, there will be too much to read and only a few posts will bring back memories. If you post on moonrise, one day you can look back and say this was my life. moonrise will hold your true memories.”

Good marketing! I might be vaguely interested to look back in 40 years to check on how I felt on May 8 2008, but frankly I have more important things to do. I can see how some people will like this – accompanied by photos and videos, a more authentic social interaction could take place by including emotions. What sort of person will this appeal to I’m not sure yet.

A quick look at the front page and it reminds me of Flickr – photo with a word or a tag – in this case, the word is about emotions. So for example:

this rather cute photo was accompanied by the word sleepy. I’m tempted to say “profound”. I note that the photo came over from Flickr. Moonri.se is also peppered with quotations that uplift (or in one case, was mildly depressing).

A quick scan of the feelings so far on Moonri.se reveals that this budding social network feels:

  • energy
  • wistful
  • happy x 2
  • better
  • frustrated
  • tired
  • sad
  • detached
  • refreshed
  • in need of sun
  • hyped
  • hungry for lunch
  • overworked unpaid
  • pleased
  • indifferent
  • lost
  • ill

okay you get the picture. Doesn’t do anything for me and I immediately consider it to be yet another indulgence of our self-obsessed society that feels the need to tell everyone everything. I don’t think the majority of people could give a rat’s **** about how you or I feel, photo or no photo, because we are too self-absorbed to care. But I’ll keep an eye on Moonri.se to see how it evolves.

Entry filed under: Social networks, Useful resources.

Get rid of the cages! How to spy on British motorists

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Luke Naismith  |  May 8, 2008 at 2:26 am

    While there may not be much utility in just remembering one’s own emotions on a particular date, there could be some quite interesting interpretations developed from the analysis of an aggregation of a whole commnuity’s emotions. For example, how did people’s emotions track on election night in Australia last year – were there nodes of people feeling angry, depressed – others feeling elated, others feeling relief? Was this different to any other election results? How does it compare with US Democratic primaries results? There could be some useful insights generated with such an analysis – particularly if combined with some visualisation software.

    Reply
  • 2. thinkingshift  |  May 8, 2008 at 9:12 am

    ah well that’s an interesting way of looking at it Luke, good point. Assuming that enough people express themselves, it could be far more interesting to take the pulse of collective emotions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

