ThinkingShift is taking a break

July 8, 2008 at 2:00 am 3 comments

Well dear reader, ThinkingShift is taking a break until August 10. I’m off to Europe for one month to visit family and have decided to have a complete break. I’m not taking my mobile phone, laptop or iPod. But I will be taking my beloved Nikon D40 camera to take plenty of snaps.

Should I come across an internet cafe, I will whip in and post a quick update. I have to navigate my way around all the brands. I’m heading for possibly the Brand Capital of the world – Rome. Versace, Dolce and Gabbana – you name it, Rome probably has it. Since I declared myself ‘anti-brand’, I have not bought a single brand name. So if I get a chance, I’ll do some “ThinkingShift on the road” type updates. I’ll also be going to Portugal.

I am praying I don’t have my usual “airport incidents” ie Kim hauled aside for bomb testing. Kim’s lipgloss confiscated (that happened in Hong Kong and I sure hope the dude enjoys wearing tangerine-coloured gloss!). Kim in a brawl with Australian immigration because I travel on an NZ passport and for some bizarre reason often pique their curiosity. At least these sorts of things will make for interesting posts!

I will be making a study of the European Union’s attitude towards privacy and checking out CCTV cameras. I’m not sure yet if I am facing biometric testing going into Rome. I don’t think so but I was reading something recently that suggested the EU was about to dabble in it. That of course would result in a post along the lines of “Kim hauled off by Italian immigration because she refused biometric testing and was put on plane back to Australia”.

So dear reader – adieu! But don’t hit the Unsubscribe button on your RSS feeder because I’ll be back on August 10 with plenty to bring you. In the meantime, I leave you with some of my latest photos:

Kim photo

Kim photo

Kim photo

Entry filed under: Photography.

Hackneyed business phrases Roman holiday

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrew Mitchell  |  July 8, 2008 at 6:21 am

    Have fun Kim! We’ll miss you.

    Tell us more about the brawl sometime.

    Reply
  • 2. creativespark  |  July 8, 2008 at 7:08 am

    The flower with the curly stamen is downright sexy!

    Have a great break Kim. It sounds like a nice hit of the reset button and that’s always a great thing.

    Don’t forget your notebook and pencil (they’re the skinny things with a point on one end for making markings on paper). Look forward to your updates when you return.

    =) Marc

    Reply
  • 3. thinkingshift  |  July 12, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Thx Andrew and Marc!! In Rome – quick stop at internet cafe. Raging heat. Very few CCTV cameras! lots to write about and lots to photograph! mmmm….I agree with you Marc about that flower photo 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

