Which airline is consistent?

July 21, 2008 at 9:18 am 2 comments

Kim photo Thirsty WorkI am hoping I have not lost all my readers!  I am currently in Portimao, in the Algarve, Portugal. Only a few minutes to update you. When I return there will be a long, ranting post about a certain airline that managed to lose my baggage twice (once on this trip and again on another). This airline is consistent I will say that: consistently late taking off, consistently throwing passengers into a panic because they will miss their connection, consistently losing luggage (and this time, totally destroying one of my bags), consistent in never responding to any of my official complaints and consistent in their rudeness and arrogance.

I will save all the juicy details for a later post. In the meantime, I will leave you guessing the name of the airline and you can leave a comment if you want to guess! It is not Qantas or BA. It is an airline that dominates Europe to a fair extent and would get you from Rome to Portugal.

Aside from this hissy fit, having a great time. Hot in the Algarve though. Portugal is like Rome – if there is a CCTV cam, you don”t really see it. People here are relaxed if I point my camera at them. And what I really like about Portugal (and it was evident in Rome too) is that the elderly people here are not…well, elderly.  I met a 74 year old woman the other day who was dressed to kill in leopard print platform shoes, camisole top and funky jewellery. No blue-rinsed hair or women tottering around with walking frames. The seniors here are healthy, they walk everywhere, sit in cafes, chat with young people and dress elegantly. This was even more noticeable in Rome. I have actually decided to be reborn Italian – such a wonderful country is Italy.  And the Italian people, I found to be polite, helpful, elegant and stylish. They do drive like maniacs though!

Another thing I am noticing here is the distinct lack of news (interest?) in anything to do with the US. I am suffering from lack of news about the Obama campaign (being obsessed with the US elections as I am). I caught a fleeting conversation that Obama is in Iraq. And you do not get the Hollywood gossip news here – so thankfully have not heard a thing about those silly vacuous stick insects that inhabit LA and totter around doing nothing but trying to be famous!

Took many photos in Rome – how could one not take photos in such a marvellous city!  My time is nearly up in this cafe – so adieu until I can get access again.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Roman holiday When is white TOO white?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephane Cheikh  |  July 21, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I would guess that the airline is TAP or maybe even Iberia!

    Reply
  • 2. Cairo  |  July 22, 2008 at 10:16 am

    This reader is keeping the faith, looking forward to your return and to seeing your pictures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

