The world through my eyes

August 12, 2008 at 2:00 am 2 comments

I’m starting to sort out the many, many photos that I took in Italy and Portugal. I wanted to avoid the usual tourist shot like “here’s a photo of the Colosseum” or “here’s a Roman ruin”. So I looked for stories the cities and places I visited would tell. Maybe the story was told by a colourful character sitting in a park or a lone cat in the Colosseum sitting in the early morning hours or a man reading a newspaper. Below are a few of the first photos I’ve downloaded and the stories they tell. Enjoy!

I last visited the Colosseum in the early 1990s. I remember lots of cats and no x-ray machines. This time around, I had to go through security scanners and the cats seem to have vanished, I guess due to all the renovations that have been going on over the years. I arrived very early to beat the crowds and the brutal heat. Success: I was second in line. Waiting for 1.5 hours. As I was waiting, I caught sight of this lone cat in the early morning light, which cast a wonderful blue wash over the entrance. Maybe it was contemplating the history of Imperial Rome!

In Aljezur, Portugal, we stopped for a break. The carpark overlooked a river and I spotted this wonderful character. I watched him for awhile. He was writing and talking to himself whilst stroking his beloved dog. With a jaunty feather in his cap, he reminds me of a wandering Medieval minstrel. I call him The Poet.

Rushing out of the subway opposite the Colosseum to beat the crowds, I caught sight of this old chap reading his newspaper accompanied by a pigeon. The backdrop of the wonderfully textured wall just added to the imagery. People love to sit in Rome: sit and read, sit and chat, sit and watch.

People in Rome love to hang out of windows: to chat with people on the street or get a breath of fresh air. July in Rome is pretty brutal with the heat. The windows were quite fascinating: colourful and often decaying.

I was in the Colosseum for many hours. By this time, it was around 10.00 or 11.00am and getting pretty hot. I spotted this lone grass bravely surviving the shimmering heat. I decided to snap its silhouette with the Colosseum as a backdrop to contrast light and shade.

Entry filed under: Photography.

Dude! where’s my luggage? Not flawless?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marc  |  August 12, 2008 at 11:33 am

    There’s something really mesmerising about the guy with the pigeon. It’s just a really beautiful shot. Not meaning to play favourites because they all are. And the light! Oh the light. Lovely, lovely light.
    =) Marc

    Reply
  • 2. thinkingshift  |  August 12, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    thx Marc 🙂 that one plus the solitary cat are my favourites.
    Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

Flickr Photos

 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

