The world through my eyes

September 4, 2008 at 2:00 am Leave a comment

I’ve been exploring geometry and space in my photography recently, particularly poche (or negative space). So here are some of my latest efforts. Thx to the readers who have emailed me saying they like the mix of my rantings about privacy and other topics along with photos. I’ll keep The World Through My Eyes as a regular feature from now on.

This was taken in the Vatican Museum. Coming down some stairs, I spotted the guard (clearly on the alert for thieves and vandals!). I was fascinated by the geometry going on, the poche, the light contrasting with the darkness.

This was taken in the Ara Pacis Museum in Rome (restored by one of my favourite architects, Richard Meier). The sense of space was interesting for me as well as the textures of the wall.

Coming out of the Vatican Museum you go down this fabulous spiral staircase and I had to capture the fluidity and movement going on.

And finally, after gorging on the magnificent works of Caravaggio on display at the Villa Borghese in Rome, I was determined to try and recreate the dark, broody feel of Caravaggio’s paintings. I spotted this dude in the window of a house sweeping and twigged my camera to get that dramatic look – well, not sure I pulled it off so I’d best stick to my day time job!

Entry filed under: Photography. Tags: , .

Internet Explorer 8 Blog fog

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

