Are you a Qwitter?

November 2, 2008 at 2:00 am 1 comment

REALLY bad title once you realise what I’m blogging about today! I have to confess that I am still thinking about Twitter. I am way behind a lot of my professional KM colleagues on this. In fact, I’m in danger of turning into one of those crusty old dinosaurs who eschew “new fangled technologies’. I have actually registered on Twitter (I think under my real name 🙂

I have read some really great blog entries on Twitter 101.  I did log-on when I first registered and tried to search for a colleague but that person remained lost in Twitterspace. So I went to “the source”, the long-suffering person I turn to when I need to know about “new fangled technologies” and who has worked with me before – James Dellow of ChiefTech. In fact, James and I are working together again on a particular project I’m doing, so hopefully I’ll pick up some Twitter tips.

James put together for me “Twitter for Idiots” but of course he didn’t call it that. I’m not sure if James has posted to his blog. I am working my way through his guide. The one thing I’ve been worried about (which will reveal I really don’t understand this twittering stuff) is – who the hell cares about what I’m doing or thinking? I use this blog to talk about the stuff that interests me. I can’t even do this in a few short paragraphs (as you know, I write mini-theses for posts), so how in the heck can I stick to 140 characters?  James has patiently tried to explain it to me from many different angles.  I even read recently that someone who twitters away – as a result of his Twitter presence – has been invited to conferences and offered a book deal. So whoa, where’s that Twitter thing!!

But then…as I was plucking up the desire to become involved in yet ANOTHER social network – I came across Qwitter. I think I should “resign” from Twitter and get onto Qwitter. Now, from a privacy perspective, Qwitter really interests me. Qwitter (wait for it):

… e-mails you when someone stops following you on Twitter with a message like this:

John Gruber (gruber) stopped following you on Twitter after you posted this tweet:  What’s the difference between Arial and Helvetica?

Since I have no followers on Twitter, I should be a great success on Qwitter. But is there a potential privacy or personal humiliation thing going on here?  Could people find out who was following you and who is not now following you? Let’s face it: we all look at our Technorati rating (mine is in the toilet); we look at our blog stats; those of you who know how to Twitter, I presume you know who follows you; we love our 15mins of fame. So when Qwitter promptly emails you to say tough, you just lost a loyal following – well, that’s a big whack to your ego.

But I guess on the bright side, it will tell you when you’ve transgressed boundaries or offended someone because Qwitter will tell you the Tweet that did you in.

Entry filed under: Privacy, Social networks, Useful resources. Tags: , .

Global warming has a huge price tag Hasta la vista Dubya!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Thai SEO  |  November 9, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Nice idea for Qwitter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

