No nasty stuff

November 13, 2008 at 2:00 am 1 comment

PR company, Bang, contacted ThinkingShift recently. Bang are the PR gurus for Ecostore, a NZ-based company that produces household cleaning and body products, which they say contain no nasty chemicals. They offered to send me some samples of products. Frankly, I expected those tiny little sachets that contain a miniscule amount of whatever the product is. You hope there’s enough for one shampoo!

Bang excelled themselves and sent me a box full of products – plant-based laundry powder; Vanilla Shampoo with no harmful Sodium Lauryl Sulphate (SLS); Vanilla, Lemongrass and Coconut soaps containing essential oils and natural coconut; Rose and Cardamon hand wash with certified organic essential oils; and other products for brightening clothes or getting your bath sparkling.

Bearing in mind what I said recently about green capitalism, I approached these products with a bit of cynicism to be honest, despite being an NZ’er!  As readers well know, I don’t decorate the ThinkingShift blog with horrid ads or pimp products unless I truly believe in them (and that has been few and far between).

I’m prepared to give some feedback on these products though. One of my biggest hassles is laundry powder as I often get nasty rashes or eczema. So to really “road test” the laundry powder I did something that could have been a stupid move – I handled the powder and I dragged out some aged, yellow bedsheets that a nuclear bomb would probably not shift the sad colouring from. Well…I’ve survived and can tell you that the laundry powder gave me no skin reactions and those sheets after one wash – well, razzle dazzle white.

The soaps are creamy and don’t have that artificial fruit or cheap aromatherapy smell. The hand wash was soft on my hands with a very subtle smell. One thing I find with so-called organic, natural products is their strong smell. Not so with Ecostore stuff.

The only product that didn’t quite do it for me was the Vanilla shampoo.  But then that’s more about my hair than the shampoo I think. I have super fine hair that the slightest amount of shampoo can flatten to my head like a pith helmet. But the shampoo had a delicate smell and I will say left my hair looking a bit shinier (maybe my eye sight is hoping it’s shinier anyway!)

Now, I’m no scientist and don’t have a home lab to sniff out the ingredients but I’m an expert in the sorts of things that send my skin into eczema hell or make my eyes water. Two weeks with these products and no problems.  I checked out the Ecostore website to learn more – this is what they say:

“We use sustainably sourced plant and mineral based ingredients to create safer, healthier products that do the job just as effectively as the petrochemical based ones.”

Ecostore products are widely available in Australia. Go here to find out where. My usual so-called “green laundry powder” has now been given the turf and replaced with the Ecostore version. For those like me obsessed with ingredients, I was impressed with the transparency around the ingredients used in their products.

I know that many ThinkingShift readers are concerned about the environment, so you might want to check out Ecostore stuff. Now, if they could just produce THE best moisturiser that doesn’t erupt my skin into hives, bumps or rashes, I’d be one happy girl.

Entry filed under: Environment, Sustainability. Tags: , , , , .

The world through my eyes Confessions of a brand slave 3

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Luke Naismith  |  November 29, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Another manufacturer of non-toxic products is Neways – we use it and have been quite impressed with their range – even their laundry powder too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

