A twist of lime

December 13, 2008 at 11:28 pm 5 comments

Over the nearly two years I’ve been blogging, a few people have complained to me via email about the bright lime green theme.  They say it’s too bright on their screen or they don’t like green or why on earth did I choose this theme? So I’ll tell you why I chose it.

Regular ThinkingShift readers would know that this blog covers diverse topics from science, to animals and LOLCats, to aliens, to politics, to social networks, knowledge management and curious things. And regular readers would also know I offer up an opinion or two, rant and rave about this and that, get paranoid over privacy and have a bit of fun with LOLCats or aliens.

So if you asked me to describe what I hope ThinkingShift is all about, I’d tell you it’s refreshing, sometimes tart, and with a little twist of the unexpected. And my favourite colour is green. Not that dark, brooding, mossy green but a wonderfully bright lime or emerald green. ThinkingShift is also a splash – of opinions, discussion, questions, amusement, intrigue, curiosity.  So what better colour to choose than a splash of lime green!

For 2008, I toyed around with the idea of another theme. I turned ThinkingShift into a more serious looking blog, with a black background (probably reflecting my mood at the time). Didn’t like it. Then I gave it a crisp, clean white background – boring. So I decided to stick with the bright lime green. It’s individual; it’s quirky. And green in Feng Shui is the colour of renewal, vigour and energy, growth and healing. In colour therapy, green represents balance, love and self-control and it relates to the heart chakra. Green represents Nature.

When choosing the colour theme, I did some quick research into the history of the colour. Green was the colour of the temple floors in ancient Egypt. It is a sacred colour in Islam. It’s the national colour of Ireland. Green vestments are worn during Ordinary Time because that’s the liturgical color for the period (between Epiphany and Ash Wednesday).

Actually, I must do a post on the history of this fabulous colour. There are some cultures that consider green to be unlucky or associated with the Devil. But generally speaking, green has a wonderfully rich cultural history that I must look into further and blog about. Do you know anything about the social or religious significance of green?

And the birds that form the banner for ThinkingShift? They represent a few things for me. The wonderful creatures that inhabit our world; curiosity because you probably think “what sort of birds are they?”; complexity science (flocking behaviour); and I like the dark silhouettes against the lime green. I took the photo in Nicaragua when I was on holidays there.

So there you have it. There is actually a method to my madness. But I am pondering whether or not to go with a new design for 2009 – what do you think?

In the meantime, here’s to a splash of lime – as you can see from the photos below, even my photography obsesses over this vibrant colour!

Actually, in choosing the photos for this post, I suddenly realised just how much I’m attracted to green as the colour seems to be a focal point in so many of my photos.

Entry filed under: Photography. Tags: , , .

1972: did they get it right? UK loses its memory

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leanne Lonergan  |  December 14, 2008 at 6:13 am

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts! Your last post plus this one are so linked together! Green is also about money and it is also known as the midpoint between the physical side of life and the spiritual. The warnings given in the article you read dating back to 1972 are really calling for humanity to get back to the heart! The financial crisis we are seeing at the moment seems to me to be a wake up call for humanity to regain the balance (green) in our lives!

    Reply
  • 2. thinkingshift  |  December 14, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Thank you Leanne. I do appreciate it when I get thoughtful comments like yours. I didn’t have an intentional link between this post and the last one – but now that you’ve pointed it out, you’re right!! I’m sensing a real shift in the psyche of people. I’ve had friends say to me that they won’t buy expensive designer brands anymore; that they will voluntarily live more simply. The model for the future must surely be a reawakening of the generous human spirit. and a regaining of balance. Because we are surely out of balance right now in all aspects – finance, health, brutal organisational cultures, violence – and the list goes on.
    Kim

    Reply
  • 3. Andrew Mitchell  |  December 14, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    It’s your blog and you’re happy with it. So change it or not, whatever you want to do. Due to the wonders of RSS I don’t visit your blog execpt to comment.

    Reply
  • 4. Leanne Lonergan  |  December 14, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Hi Kim,
    I couldn’t agree more! I am sensing that shift too. Yes, we are way out of balance and it is going to be a wild ride to bring the balance back but it will be good when we get there!
    Getting our priorities back in balance and living a more simple and reverent life just feels so right. I look forward to reading more of your wonderful posts Kim!
    : )
    Leanne

    Reply
  • 5. thinkingshift  |  December 14, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    well thx Andrew. Sort of like it’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to! Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

