Money, money, money

December 21, 2008 at 2:00 am Leave a comment

The global financial hissy fit (or as I call it the GFHF) has probably caused us to consider money a whole lot more. The other day, I set off to one of Sydney’s department stores to purchase a Dazzle Glass lipgloss from Mac. I admit I suffered temporary amnesia – I forgot that Mac is a global brand.  Besides, when I considered the price of the lipgloss, I declined to buy it. But if the GFHF wasn’t our reality of the moment and you could spend any amount you wanted to spend, what would you buy?

I’ve always wondered: if I won zillions in a lottery, what would I do with it? Would I still work? I think the answer to the last question is I’d be out the door so fast, there would be no chance of it smacking me in the posterior! But the answer to the first question would be….well, not sure. I know I would donate a fair amount to charity. I know I’d probably trek around the world for a few months. But beyond that, don’t know.

So I was intrigued to read about the estranged wife of United Technologies Corporation’s former CEO. Now, whilst the rest of us are starting to feel the impact of the GFHF and some people are even fretting about homelessness, said wife believes she simply cannot live on anything less than $53,000 per week. Yep, that’s right: $53,000 every 7 days. My cunning maths ability tells me that’s approximately $7,571 per day. What is she spending on you ask?

  • clothing $4500
  • hair and skin care $1000
  • dry cleaning $650
  • flowers $600
  • fur storage and cleaning $45 (darls, one should NOT wear dead animals – you could save some money!)
  • travel $8000 (I reckon she could save here by staying at home. Apparently, she can’t travel on the UTC corporate jet anymore)
  • mortgage, maintenance fees, rent or other costs for a Park Avenue apartment, a Hamptons residence and several properties in Sweden

Poor lambchop! I could certainly share with her some of my very own recipes for making organic moisturisers, soaps and body lotions. I could save her $1000 at least on skincare.

Meanwhile, I suggest that said estranged wife of ex-CEO who had more money than he possibly knew what to do with, should read this article that chronicles the individual hardships and stories of people suffering through the GFHF in the US.  She’d read about foreclosures, declining towns and streets, eviction of the poor, lay-offs, unemployment benefits that will run out, people on the verge of homelessness, families living from paycheck to paycheck.

Darls: I reckon this will stop you whinging about how you can’t live on anything less than $53,000 a week!

Entry filed under: Rant. Tags: .

Youth and Greek tragedy You’re being watched

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

