Hong Kong redux

March 27, 2009 at 2:00 am 4 comments

Well, I’m off to Hong Kong again. I cannot believe it’s nearly a year since I was last there visiting my students at Hong Kong PolyTechnic University. I teach in the KM Masters programme and this year I’ve had the pleasure of teaching along with Professor Eric Tsui, KM colleague and friend, in the Knowledge Communities course.  And I’ll also be catching up I hope with gentleman and scholar, Patrick Lambe, legend and all-round genius, Dave Snowden and Leif Edvinsson – as I’ll be speaking along with them at  this conference (presented by the Hong Kong Knowledge Management Society and the Knowledge Management Research Centre of HK PolyU). Last year, I was made an Adj Professor, which I totally forgot to blog about dear reader! Prof Tsui and I will also be running a one day workshop on practical knowledge sharing techniques, which I’m very much looking forward to.

My major task will be to stay away from The Brands. Regular readers will know that last year, I gave up buying brand name stuff and have been going pretty well actually. My Plan of Attack this year is to buy myself a macro lens for my beloved Nikon D40 and roam around Hong Kong taking photos. Yes, I know that Nikon is a brand name but unless someone knows of great “no name” cameras and lenses, then I have to stick with my Nikon. Mind you, a chap at work has been telling me all about lomography and the Diana camera – I am planning to check this out. If you know anything, leave a comment please!

I will have to scrupulously avoid going near any MAC cosmetics counter – the tantalizing Hello Kitty! collection of lipglosses and cosmetics has been released (kitty kouture!). I had to run fast through a Sydney department store the other day to evade any form of temptation from those cute kitties.

I am wondering if I’ll evade the bomb testing at Sydney airport. In the last few weeks, I’ve been to Melbourne and New Zealand – three times I was hauled aside for bomb testing. I asked one dude why and he said “because you look innocent”. So if anyone knows how to make me look not so innocent, also leave a comment.

So probably less posts over the next week but, then again, I might surprise you!

Entry filed under: Conferences. Tags: , , , .

The world through my eyes How curious!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. creativespark  |  March 27, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Hi Kim

    Oh no, the brand temptation test again? So soon?

    That Hello Kitty is very cute though… and I’m not a fan. When I lived in Tokyo I actually lived for a while in a Hello Kitty apartment… in that the other gaijin (white people) sharing it made it their mission to collect Hello Kitty things during their regular gomi hunting (going through other people’s rubbish) missions. How can you not have nightmares sleeping in a Hello Kitty bed, with Hello Kitty sheets and a giant Hello Kitty doll watching over you, and no late night snacks because you couldn’t bring yourself to open the Hello Kitty fridge?

    Ummm… lomos… cool, that’ll be a lot of fun. The Diana F+ looks like it will be the most popular into the future (and it comes in a cool blue colour with that cute paparrazi flash). They just released a polaroid back for it (http://www.lomography.com/diana/products/instant). How cool is that? The thing about the Diana I think is that it takes lens adaptors, colour gels etc, so there’s a lot you can do with it.

    I use a Blackbird Fly (http://www.superheadz.com/bbf/) box camera, which has two apertures, f7 and f11, and two speeds, 1/125 or bulb. I like that it can be set to take square format pics and it’s quite a head turner. Fun to play with double exposures etc too. They come in some nice colours, but mine is the classic black.

    I’ve also got a Lomo Fisheye 2 and I love that one… especially because I can’t afford a fisheye lens for my DSLR, so it fills a gap. I’ve had a lot of fun with it. The distortion can have some surprisingly great results and again it does double exposures etc. There’s a waterproof casing for that, which I don’t have, but I always thought underwater fish-eye photos made sense.

    And I’ve got a plain old Holga, which kind of kicked off the Lomo thing. I haven’t used it for a while because the Blackbird has caught my fancy, but I’ve had some fun with it. It has random light-leaks and other unpredictable results. Lovely.

    I don’t own any, but I’d consider the Colour Samplers etc to be more gimmicky. Fun if you’ve got a lot of money to buy toys but not as sustained a pleasure.

    I suspect HK would be as good a place as any to actually buy a Lomo if you were going to. I believe they’re made in China not Russia now, so you’re close to the source.

    I’m sure your workmate explained that the Lomo philosophy is “shoot from the hip” and “don’t think, shoot”… so prepare to unlearn all your fine technique and embrace randomness.

    =) Marc

    Reply
  • 2. thinkingshift  |  March 27, 2009 at 7:14 am

    LOL!!! A Hello Kitty! apartment??? never heard of one like that, it’s amazing you got out alive Marc!!!

    I might have suspected you would know a lot about lomography and thx for the advice – it’s just what I was hoping for so I could take the plunge. The workmate (who’s all of 21 or something and obsessed with lomography) told me about the shoot from hip business. Sounds fun!

    Which camera did you use for those fabulous coloured windows on one of your latest posts??

    I’ll check out all the links you gave me, print out and take with me to Honkers.
    ciao!

    Reply
  • 3. creativespark  |  March 27, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Hi Kim

    Brrr… just thinking about that Japanese apartment gives me shivers. You’d be surprised how many Hello Kitty things, from shower curtains to floor mats, you can get into one bathroom! Did I mention the rice cooker?

    Sorry to disappoint, that one’s digital… I know because I had to filter all that ugly digital noise. Not my usual default camera though…this was a Canon Powershot S5 IS, whose one cool feature is that the LCD on the back flips out and turns 180. Great for self portraits.

    http://creativespark.wordpress.com/2008/06/27/your-new-social-networking-home-is-going-to-be-all-about-location-location-location/

    That’s kind of an example of the fisheye… not a good one… they look really distorted and fishy if you have something close in the centre of the shot.

    =) M

    Reply
  • 4. creativespark  |  March 27, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    And looking forward to seeing the pics!
    Your last set from HK were stunning.
    If you didn’t get to the flower/bird market last time… very photogenic!
    =) M

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

