I’ve had a facelift

April 25, 2009 at 2:00 am 6 comments

Well, no, not me but the ThinkingShift blog. If you normally view this blog via RSS, come on over and check out the new look. For over 2 years, I stuck very loyally to my favourite green colour and a flock of birds for the header. But this week, my beloved Mac laptop died so I’ve been working on an old G4, which has a much larger screen. Maybe it was the larger screen that triggered off my hissy fit but I thought I’ve had enough of this green business, time to change.

So there’s a new look and a new bird in the header – a beautiful scarlet parrot I took a snap of in Hong Kong recently. The meaning of this for me is that the parrot symbolises everything TS blog stands for – watching over and reporting on what’s going on in our society; talking about endangered species; looking at what’s curious and bizarre.  But I did include my favourite colour (green) in category titles. Tell me what you think!

Meanwhile, for those of us in Australia and New Zealand, it is ANZAC Day – the day we honour members of the Australian & New Zealand Army Corps (or ANZAC) who fought in Gallipoli, Turkey during WWI.  Google has changed its icon for the day:

And I also remember my own father who slugged it out in WWII as a fighter pilot for the Royal New Zealand airforce: Flight Lieutenant James Evans Jenkins No 402670, who cut a dashing figure from the cockpit of his Spitfire. My dad told me the photo below came from a promotional film the NZ Air Force shot during WWII that featured him, but I’ve never been able to track it down. NZ newspapers of the time apparently carried photos so I must try to get hold of them.

Entry filed under: Google. Tags: .

Let’s shift our focus Two acts

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. creativespark  |  April 25, 2009 at 7:40 am

    That giant red bird is watching me. It’s not one of those clever Chinese “monitor you through your computer” tricks is it? Who knows what technological espionage you got up to in HK!
    =p M

    Reply
    • 2. thinkingshift  |  April 25, 2009 at 8:47 am

      LOL Marc! Hadn’t thought of it that way – but I’ll add that to my symbolism list – giant red bird watching the watchers through the computer.

      Reply
  • 3. Brad  |  April 26, 2009 at 2:42 am

    Like the new redesign. Nicely done.

    Reply
    • 4. thinkingshift  |  April 26, 2009 at 3:02 am

      thx Brad! remember to cover up in Canberra this week, apparently it will be coolish.
      Kim

      Reply
      • 5. Brad  |  April 26, 2009 at 5:33 am

        I’m in Sydney… but still, thanks for the tip.

  • 6. thinkingshift  |  April 26, 2009 at 5:38 am

    oops..wrong Brad – but if you’re travelling to Canberra, take the coat 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

