ThinkingShift thrifty tips

July 11, 2009 at 2:00 am 3 comments

I’ve had some emails asking me to offer up some of my tips for living more frugally or saving money. I have to confess I go through cycles. I can be very thrifty for months on end, then wham, I go out and buy a handbag or lip gloss (not a Brand name though). I still struggle to get this under control but will win out!

So I’m going to start off with one of my best tips for saving money. It’s actually quite easy once you get into the habit. You’ll need a piggy bank or glass jar. I have a plastic pig that is brightly coloured with crazy painted flowers and it sits in a prominent place so I can always see it.

Here’s the tip:

  • when you buy anything, you use a note only. No coins. So if you’re buying a coffee, you whip out a $5 note. If you’re buying food for the week, you use a $50 or $100 note and so on.
  • from here, you have two choices: you either put aside the gold coins (in Oz we have $1 and $2 gold coins) and still keep using the silver coins for purchases OR you put both silver and gold coins into the piggy.
  • what I do is I have a small gold purse that I pop the gold coins into and, when I get home, the piggy bank gets fed. I usually keep the silver coins in my wallet to use for purchases but left-over silver coins go into piggy at the end of the week.
  • check the money in piggy after 2 weeks of doing this and you will be amazed. Bank the piggy money and start all over again.

It’s simple but effective. Soon, I’ll do my Top 10 money saving tips. Oh – and for those who have emailed me about “why no privacy posts?” – don’t you worry, coming soon!

Entry filed under: living frugally. Tags: , , .

Luxury recession for Australia? Revenge is not sweet

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Thrash Cardiom  |  July 11, 2009 at 5:58 am

    I’ve been doing something similar for quite a few years. Instead of a piggy bank I just throw the money into a drawer. My partner kept removing it as she considered it to be “spare change”. She stopped when I pointed out that it’s main purpose was to ensure there was enough funds to buy her a birthday present each year.

    Reply
  • 2. thinkingshift  |  July 11, 2009 at 6:09 am

    LOL! guess she doesn’t touch the “spare change” anymore!

    Reply
  • 3. thinkingshift  |  July 12, 2009 at 1:51 am

    LOL! guess she doesn’t touch the “spare change” anymore!
    Forgot to add excellent post! Can’t wait to reading the next one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

