Twittering away

October 6, 2009 at 2:00 am 2 comments

I'm camera shy by you.A few months back, I took the plunge and started Twittering. You can follow me on Twitter – see right hand panel of this blog for TS tweets. I like it far better than Facebook (which leaves me cold) because it’s more about having the global conversation that The Cluetrain Manifesto talked about back in 1999 (has it really been 10 years since this great book was published?).

I don’t think I’m using Twitter to its full advantage. I dabble in it, carrying on about something, have a conversation with Twitter friends about MasterChef, that sort of thing. But as I’m about to take on a consulting gig that will require me to know more about Twitter, I have been researching.

And I came across this great site that offers up 100 ways to use Twitter in the library. It’s mind-boggling really what you can do with Twitter. I’ve now discovered tweetparty, which helps to create Twitter groups; TweetScan, where you type in keywords and get tweets that match your keyword emailed to you (how cool is that!); and you should check out all the libraries and publishers on Twitter.

Entry filed under: Librarians, Libraries, Useful resources. Tags: .

NeoConOpticon Economist social media video

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. irene  |  October 6, 2009 at 4:56 am

    The 10th anniversary edition of cluetrain is out.
    http://www.amazon.com/Cluetrain-Manifesto-10th-Anniversary/dp/0465018653/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1254804820&sr=1-1

    I discovered the original in about 2002 and felt like a radical leftie. But it is so 2010. My director loves it and is astonished at Weinberger’s visions.

    The anniversay edition discusses what was correct and where they got it wrong. I will be buying a copy if my work library doesn’t.

    Reply
  • 2. thinkingshift  |  October 6, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Hi Irene

    I have my 10th Anniversary edition coming from Amazon..can’t wait to read it. Do you read the JOHO The Blog, which is Weinberger’s blog? I have a link to it in the blogroll of TS blog.
    Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

