Planet cat

November 25, 2009 at 2:00 am Leave a comment

I don’t think I’ve blogged before about make-up. Guys: this could be a girl’s only zone unless of course you are into glitz and glam – read on then. Or if you want to buy your gal something very special for Xmas.

If ever I was going to have another career (apart from being an archaeologist, writer, photographer or mega-rich entrepreneur of course), I’d want to be a make-up artist. All my life, I’ve LOVED make-up, particularly shiny, sparkly lip gloss. Can’t get enough of lip gloss.

I don’t really take much note of the design or packaging of products because I’m so keen to get to use the product. But breezing through Hong Kong duty free, I stopped (literally) in my tracks when I came across the Shu Uemura display. Shu Uemura is a Japanese cosmetics house founded by the legendary Japanese make-up artist of the same name. The brand is available in Australia but I’ve not taken much notice of it..until now.

The Japanese fashion designer, Tsumori Chisato, has collaborated with Shu Uemura to produce the limited edition Planet Cat range. I bought the Planet Cat Couture Palette and the Duo Colour Highlighter, Stardust.

Just look at the quirky designs and the beauty of the silvery, glittery compact with a black cat that has one eye made from a rhinestone. Really, they are works of art. And collectible I’d say. This is a limited edition range, so guess you’d best be quick to snap up the kitties.

I must admit I bought the items because of the design. The colours in the Planet Cat palette strike me as a little odd. You get three pressed eye shadows in Black Glitz; Shiny Silver and Copper; one cream eyeliner in Black Purple; one cream highlighter in Gold Iridescent and a (gorgeous) soft Apricot pink blush. There’s a bit too much glitter happening here for me and the colours are an odd combination of warm and cool tones. But seems the collection is all about stars and moons, hence the colour palette I guess.

The Stardust highlighter though is gorgeous, sort of like leaving a trail of shimmering stardust on your face where you use it.  And the winking cat is a bonus.

I can hardly bring myself to dip into the products because it will mess up the cat designs. I’m hoping that fashion designers and artists will be used a whole heap more in collaboration with consumer products.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Bus karaoke Scientists behaving badly?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

