Come play with me

February 7, 2010 at 2:00 am Leave a comment

I’ve been a bit side-tracked this week. I finished the first roll of film from my new Superheadz Pink Dress superfat lens camera and I’m starting to upload to my photo blog. The first photo is up and shows the Sydney Opera House from a slightly different perspective. It’s always exciting to get back your roll of processed film, especially when using a lomography camera. You just don’t know what to expect. And speaking of the unexpected. Have you seen the photos of cheetahs toying with a cute little impala?

I’ve been to Kenya I think four times, maybe three. I rode around for hours in one of those safari jeeps decked out with a zebra pattern. Around and around the Masai Mara, looking for cheetahs. Maybe a mother with cheetah cubs. I managed to get one shot of a cheetah speeding over the Kenyan landscape. All you could really see was this small blurry dot. So you can imagine how jealous I am of these photos.

So here you have three male cheetahs with a baby impala, who in some of those photos looks a bit like the deer in the traffic light. You can almost hear the antelope thinking: “How the hell did I get myself into this spot. Look at those, cheetahs. Dangerous, fast. Can I outrun them? Am I tonight’s dinner?”.  But apparently, the male cheetahs had full bellies from a previous hunt and were tired following their dash after prey. You know, the photos remind me of how you can feel in an organisation: senior management toying with employees. Will they fire me or won’t they? Will there be another restructure? Am I getting a salary increase? LOL.

Aren’t these just the most amazing photos.  The cheetahs knocked down the impala and played with it for about 15 minutes. Lots of licking and affectionate rubbing going on. Then it seems the impala made its escape (although I have read elsewhere that it ended up as a cheetah snack: let’s hope not). The photographers are Michel and Christine Denis-Huot. Sooooooooooooooooo jealous.

Entry filed under: Photography. Tags: , .

Oh to be a pig There be dragons

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

Flickr Photos

 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

