Freaky

March 25, 2010 at 2:00 am 2 comments

I realise that my last post was a bit grim reaper type news. So today I am bringing you something truly awesome. From a guy who has SERIOUS talent. When I first saw these images, I thought they were B&W photos but noooooooo…they are meticulous pencil drawings by Hong Kong artist Paul Lung. Maybe you’ve seen some of his work? Apparently, he spends 60 or so hours creating these amazing lifelike images. I’ve selected my favourites from his gallery. Make sure you follow the link and check out his work. Take time to look at the detail in some of his images, particularly the fur on cats. The dude is a genius.

And just in case you can’t believe someone can produce such stunning, freaky images from a mere pencil, check out this video of Paul at work. **shaking my head**

Entry filed under: Art. Tags: , , , .

Not so lucky Roll up

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. irene  |  March 25, 2010 at 6:41 am

    I have not seen this type of work before although as you know Kim I too visit HK from time to time.

    But it immediately reminds me of some Chinese embroidery of flowers or cats or tigers. Each stitch in fine silk is just like this. It looks like an oil painting. But what is more amazing is that the whole embroidery is often totally reversible and is therefore mounted in a frame that can be turmed over like a mirror with 2 strengths on each side. The women who do it work under a magnifying glass. I don’t particularly like the images produced so i don’t own one. But they are stunning to see and I do admire the work. Not sure what it does to the young eyes that produce it.

    Reply
  • 2. thinkingshift  |  March 25, 2010 at 7:54 am

    Irene!! I will miss you on Tuesday but will catch up with you. The Chinese embroidery sounds amazing. I’ll see what I can find in HK. I do think that Lung’s work is stunning.
    Where’s Wong Words – The Blog??
    Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

