Roll up

March 27, 2010 at 2:00 am 3 comments

So here I am in fabulous, cosmopolitan Hong Kong getting ready to speak at the 2010 Knowledge Management Conference: Making KM Productive. And I’ll be tweeting using #HKKMS10 on March 30 and bringing you tidbits from the sessions of Max Boisot, Dave Snowden and other KM luminaries. If you are looking for me on Twitter, I’m @kimmar (but you can also watch the ThinkingShift tweets being updated on the right hand side panel of this blog).

But I have a day or so to roam Hong Kong and take photos. I’ve brought my Nikon D40, Smena 8M, Diana F+ and Superheadz Pink Dress cameras with me – is this overkill? I’ll be uploading photos to my photoblog, ChinchillaBluePhotography, when I get back.

Meanwhile, today’s post is very Minority Report. Laptops, cell phones, PCs will be so very passé in the not too distant future because all you’ll need to do is roll up your sleeve and tap the flesh on your forearm. Up will pop a touch screen, you tap out a few strokes and, voilà, your computer unlocks, your front door opens, you answer your cell phone. The technology is still pretty clunky. It’s called Skinput and here’s a photo:

Mmmmm….look closely at the photo. Doesn’t it remind you of the identification numbers the Nazis tattooed onto the left forearm of Jewish people (and others) stuffed into the concentration camps during WWII?

Entry filed under: Technology. Tags: , .

Freaky Managing knowledge strategically

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrew Hill  |  March 28, 2010 at 3:05 am

    Hi Kim,

    I’ve been reminded lately that although we all occupy the same world, we each live in different universes. I have a quote that I wrote in my pocketbook awhile ago, ‘We don’t see things as they are, we see things as we are’ – Anais Nin.

    One reason that I enjoy reading your blog is because you often see things totally differently to how I would. I need an alternative viewpoint to help me think outside my comfort zone, because basically I can take things on a very superficial level and get suckered into hidden agendas. But having said all that, I don’t think I’d like to lose that naivety if it means wearing lawyer goggles, even if it does cost me sometimes. Although I believe in turning the other cheek, I won’t drop my pants for a third shot, plus you really get to know who the arseholes are out there and warn others.

    You see, I don’t remotely get any connection between those two pictures apart from a forearm being in each. Sometimes you gotta take things on trust – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sew27vhlNHA

    Reply
  • 2. thinkingshift  |  March 28, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Greetings from Hong Kong Andrew and thx for the article reference. One reason I keep blogging (and believe me, there are times when I think about giving it up!) is because of reader comments like yours. Comments push me to think another way or follow links and videos suggested – as with the YouTube link you left me. I will watch it (oh it’s Gangajang, used to really like their music!).

    Meanwhile, stay tuned for my live tweets and blog posts from the HK KM conference here in Hong Kong March 30!
    ciao
    Kim

    Reply
    • 3. Andrew Hill  |  March 28, 2010 at 9:30 am

      Balance is something I’ve been endeavouring to get into my life. I’ve always liked the saying:

      “Trust in Allah, but tie up your camel”.

      Guess that covers all contingencies.

      Best wishes for an ovation after your talk, and thanks for the kind comments.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

ThinkingShift Tweets

Flickr Photos

Zsa Zsa

Zeph

Polocrosse

More Photos
 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

