Hong Kong moments

April 7, 2010 at 2:00 am 8 comments

Today, I bring you some of my snaps of the ever-colourful, ever-vibrant Hong Kong. I took so many photos, all my cameras need a holiday. These shots are from my beloved Nikon D40.

A number of people at the conference came up to me and said “I read your blog”. That is so great to hear because bloggers (unless of course you’re a famous blogger) do wonder “does anyone actually read my blog?”. My stats tell me that people do but it’s fantastic to actually meet people who say they read the ThinkingShift blog.

And a special hello to Tony and Gudrun in Hong Kong who I know read the TS blog.

The last photo – that’s my Hitchcock moment. Just like the film director liked to pop up briefly in his own films, I sometimes snap myself – in this case, on a bridge over a busy road. I caught my reflection in the shiny railing in between the cars below and the skyscrapers above. Sweet!

Entry filed under: Photography. Tags: , .

Thailand for farangs The Big Move

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. elloisefrances  |  April 7, 2010 at 2:09 am

    I love the pictures, it inspires me to take picture whenever on vacation. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. irene  |  April 7, 2010 at 3:09 am

    I’m so glad you took a photo from a pedestrian overpass. I know HK a bit.

    I see the overpasses as an interesting aspect of everyday life. As everyone knows, HK is very crowded. The underground train service is amazingly effective. But it offers more than a train service.

    When one follows the (very effective) above ground signage down tot he trains it is not just a matter of walking down the stairs and stepping onto a train. In some cases you may walk hundreds of metres to the train door.

    In effect the train system has created an enormous underground world. The routes to the train have opened up another world and people routinely use them to get to points at street level.

    Now with the extensive system of overpasses (especially in the CBD area on the Island) such as in your photo, there is a third level for people to walk.

    What HK effectively has is three levels of moving around. It separates pedestrians from cars and buses and gives people quick routes from place to place. Even some buildings have above ground connections. And most of these connections are very wide to carry large crowds. Most have lifts or ramps as well of, or instead of, stairs.

    And of course when HK becomes sweat city in summer the underground and some of the overpasses are airconditioned, offering blessed relief from the weather outside.

    I find it fascinating to think of a society that operates on three levels. It reminds me of cross sections of animal or insect tunnels. The HK Govt hasn’t messed around and has got this right.

    I note too how little rubbish there is in the streets. While HK streets don’t really feel clean (thye are old and well worn) there is generally not much litter. There are places that are untidy but the city officials do seem to keep it as tidy as possible–with those witches brooms that Kim has also captured.

    One of the photos has a couple of pot plants. The other thing that surprises me in HK is the landscaping around the roads and verges and under the underpasses. For a large city with so many people and roads there are so many bushes and plants growing to give some relief from the concrete jungle. And it is all well maintained. You can see some of the landscaping in Kim’s last photo. It can go on like this for kilometres. I guess being a tropical city helps the vegetation flourish

    It’s good to see the Star Ferry. It must be one of the best short ferry trips in the world. I lived in HK in the early 1970s. Nothing has changed. One of the features of the trip are the men who catch the ropes to tie up the ferry on each side. They still wear a navy sailors suit type of uniform. It is just like you would expect to see in a childs old fashioned set of toy people. So much in HK is new with the past overlooked. I just love the Star Ferry boatmen who have survived from another era.

    I’m looking forward to my next trip later this year.

    Reply
  • 3. thinkingshift  |  April 7, 2010 at 3:44 am

    thank you Elloisefrances 🙂
    Irene, thanks for your amazing comments. I truly had not thought of Hong Kong operating on 3 levels but you are right. I’ve always found HK interesting from the street level – the streets are sometimes a tad seedy looking but I’ve never noted heaps of rubbish. They are in fact quite clean. This trip, I tried to navigate via the overpasses. What amazed me was on Sundays, the Filipino maids who work for HK families crowd the areas around the overpasses, playing cards, singing, and generally just having a collective day out. I presume it’s their one day off a week (if not a month).
    The more I get to know HK, the more I find it a place of amazing contrasts. With Wing Lee Street you get colonial HK; Harbour City gives you modern shopping malls; and in between is all the richness and colour I try to capture in my photos.

    Reply
  • 4. Dev  |  April 7, 2010 at 9:56 am

    The colorful nature of Hong Kong makes me feel like taking a vacation right now.
    The pictures are very beautiful. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. thinkingshift  |  April 7, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Thank you Dev. I can certainly say you wouldn’t go wrong taking a holiday in glorious Hong Kong!

    Reply
  • 6. Oohlala  |  April 7, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    Nice rings! and yes nice photos!!

    Reply
  • 7. thinkingshift  |  April 7, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Oohlala! You can’t even see what rings I’m wearing 🙂 I hope to be back in Thailand in 2011 on my way to Costa Rica (not exactly enroute but going to try and make it). And so we’ll meet again. Unless you get to NZ first.

    Reply
  • 8. Oohlala  |  April 8, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    See you in BKK!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

Flickr Photos

 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com

