Tiffany Outlet

May 23, 2011 at 5:16 am 76 comments

Well people, it’s embarrassing to admit this but – I’ve been the victim of a very shoddy Chinese company. I’ve decided to blog on my experience because I am sooooooooooooooo annoyed. Here’s what happened.

A friend of mine has always wanted the Tiffany solid pentagram-shaped silver keyring. And I’ve always fancied the Elsa Peretti silver mesh earrings. Being stuck in rural New Zealand, I can’t exactly wander down to my local Tiffany & Co. Over the years, I’ve been given some Tiffany items and bought things myself, so I’m very aware of what Tiffany jewellery should look and feel like.

I don’t usually order stuff off the internet because I’m paranoid about being ripped off. If I do order, it’s from reputable sites like Amazon or Strawberrynet. However, I thought I’d search for what Tiffany & Co might sell online and came across a site that I genuinely believed was a Tiffany outlet – rather like designer brands have outlet stores.

Here’s the site. Same distinctive Tiffany blue colour and use of the name Tiffany & Co. I spent time looking at the items and they seemed genuine. No sign of it being a non-American site – it even refers to the US Postal Service. I located the pentagram keyring and mesh earrings and I read the customer feedback. All glowing – but that’s because (as I now know) the people behind the site moderate comments and don’t seem to allow negative feedback to be posted.

So I ordered – here are the screenshots of the two items.

Screenshot of solid pentagram-shaped silver keyring.

Close up of the keyring.

Silver mesh earrings - note the round ball at top of earring.

Screenshot that clearly shows I qualify for free shipping.

The site very clearly stated that I qualified for free shipping and that my order came to a total of $US65.20. The two photos below show what I received:

Notice anything? The keyring is NOT what I ordered and the earrings don’t have the solid silver ball at the top. The items arrived in what looked like the distinctive blue box Tiffany & Co use as well as the soft blue pouches Tiffany use.

But…and this is when I became alarmed….the invoice had Chinese characters on it and the items were frankly shoddy CRAP encased in equally shoddy cheap, clear plastic pockets.

To add salt to the wound, my credit card had been charged the shipping fee!!

I immediately sent an email (using the Contact Us tab) but…and here’s the interesting thing…on trying to send the email, the system asks you for a validation code but I could not see or find any validation code. One therefore assumes they don’t want you to contact them?

I then found an email address and emailed directly from my business email. A series of emails flew back and forth and have ultimately led to this post.

This is what transpired:

  • they ended up admitting that they did not have the solid pentagram keyring in stock and took it upon themselves to send the star-shaped one instead. I reminded them that it says on their website that the pentagram keyring is IN STOCK and, if it’s not, they should therefore take it down from their site or say “Not in Stock”;
  • they refused to comment on why the earrings that I received were not the same as the ones I ordered from the site ie the silver ball at the top of the earring was missing;
  • their excuse about charging me for shipping? They said it only applied to Christmas 2010 orders. I pointed out that this was six months ago and their excuse was “oh website problems, sorry”. They did offer to refund $US15.00 but what’s the point of this?
  • I then requested a full refund. The keyring is useless as it’s not the pentagram shape and the earrings are not as described on the site. And frankly, the two items are very clearly CHEAP CRAP. They have remained silent since this request.
  • I have sent them two further emails requesting a refund and courtesy of response – nothing. I told them I would be blogging and using social media to expose their lack of customer service and shoddy goods. No response.

How is it that the real Tiffany & Co doesn’t sue these dudes assess off? The site is pretty clever at giving you some degree of comfort when it says: We are officially licensed by Tiffany outlet sales distributor”. But it’s vague information, obviously designed to lure in the unsuspecting.

Sad to say dear reader that I have been duped. You’ve been warned – DON’T USE TIFFANY OUTLET. They will simply take your money and run, whilst you end up with cheap and nasty goods made in China.

UPDATE: quite a few readers have privately emailed me saying good on me for telling you about this shonky lot. They didn’t want to give away to Tiffany Outlet how you can spot them as being shonky from the website.

FURTHER UPDATE: Yeehah! Tiffany Outlet is having their asses sued by the real Tiffany. Read my latest post.

Entry filed under: China, Rant. Tags: , .

Flushing out the greenwash Tiffany Outlet bites the dust

76 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Agree.....  |  July 18, 2011 at 3:38 am

    Completly agree! I just went on the same sight and noticed they spelled ALOT of words wrong so I decided to google it knowing it wasn’t the real tiffanys. That’s when I found ur blog. DO NOT ORDER FROM TIFFANYS OUTLET! I also don’t understand how they can use tiffanys name??? Just noticed there copyright is spelled w an extra “l” in jewelry!

    Reply
    • 2. thinkingshift  |  July 19, 2011 at 7:39 am

      I’ve quite a number of private emails – people didn’t want to leave a public comment as it would tip off Tiffany Outlets as to how people can spot they are RUBBISH, CRAP Chinese products. I’m very glad you found this post so you can at least be warned. The post is going very well, so obviously lots of people are wanting to buy stuff from Tiffany Outlets but are now being warned.

      Reply
  • 3. Nellie S  |  November 6, 2011 at 3:51 am

    wow, did you just save me a lot of trouble. I have been clicking back and forth from the official site to the outlet – questioning but starting to be drawn in as the outlet site is very well done. I emailed them and specifically asked them if they sold official Tiffany approved jewellery, etc. and was advised yes, of course and they sent me a picture of the packaging, etc. I do not know why Tiffany would not have this site removed or at least more information to avoid it. Why not put these sites on their official site as sites to watch out for. From my understanding – there are NO such thing as Tiffany outlet stores, Tiffany never has a sale. That helps. My husband and I are going into Toronto to the Tiffany store and buy my bracelet for Christmas. At least I know where it is coming from and it will also be a part of the whole experience. I’m looking forward to it. Thanks again for your blog.

    Reply
  • 4. wundur  |  November 7, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Look like the site was taken down and there is a class action suit:
    http://servingnotice.com/off/index.html

    Reply
    • 5. thinkingshift  |  November 8, 2011 at 8:01 pm

      Well wundur, if I’ve had any hand in this, I’m VERY pleased and hope their asses are sued off!! And Nellie S: my pleasure in saving you from wasting your hard-earned money on shonky Chinese crap. I hope you enjoy your real Tiffany’s bracelet that your wonderful husband will buy you for Christmas.

      Despite being somewhat embarrassed to have posted about my embarrassment on this blog, I’m glad I did so to save others from falling into the clutches of Tiffany Outlet.

      Reply
  • 6. bill j  |  December 22, 2011 at 5:55 am

    I ordered a ring and bracelet from this same company. What a great deal I thought. When products arrived, they looked cheap and when my wife put the bracelet on, the clasp broke. I called the number that was on invoice and was told I could exchange product but would have to pay shipping both ways. I sold the ring and braclet at a garage sale for $3 for a loss of $68.00. I guess I should have known better–you get what you pay for especially with this company.

    Reply
    • 7. thinkingshift  |  December 22, 2011 at 6:35 am

      Well Bill, thanks for being brave enough to admit it! Both you and I should be star witnesses for Tiffanys if you ask me. Even after all these months, I’m still hopping mad. I can handle the fact I was a jerk for being sucked in. What I have trouble with is the disdain I was met with – I had the same response as you: “we’ll exchange the product but you pay the shipping fees”. What hubris! Perhaps it wouldn’t be so bad if the product was actually a quality item. But what I received was crap with a capital C. And the items you received were clearly the same.

      The whole site was totally misleading. The photos looked like the items were good quality; but what you received was a TOTALLY different item that was flimsy and cheap.

      So let’s hope that these losers are shut down by Tiffanys, along with all the other dodgy scam artists trying to rip off the IP of genuine companies and their products. I’ll be blogging more as I learn what the outcome is.

      Reply
  • 8. charlotte doyen  |  January 10, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    STOP PAYMENT ON YOUR CREDIT CARD!!!!!!!

    Reply
    • 9. thinkingshift  |  January 11, 2012 at 7:02 am

      It was too late unfortunately. The charge had gone through because it took about a week for the crap stuff to arrive from China. By the time, I had opened up the parcel and saw the CRAP, the credit card had well and truly been charged. I rang them immediately only to be told I can dispute it – and that’s what I’m doing.

      Reply
      • 10. Boriana  |  January 30, 2012 at 7:57 pm

        I so much thank you for your “warning” blog.

        But just FYI and everyone out there who are looking for cheap Tiffany, I came across two more sites

        http://www.cheaptiffanyandcooutlet.net
        http://www.tiffanyoutlets-usa.com

        when I was searching for cheap Tiffany.
        I got very suspicious because of the incredibly low prices for one, as well as I was not able to find anything “About Us”, you know how others have a link to tell you more about their company history.

        On the other hand, If you really want authentic Tiffany, visit your local Pawn shops. I purchased a Heart toggle link necklace for $140 and took it to the Tiffany store to have them add a few links.
        Little did I now that you could bargain; the next day I went to a different one. They had a Return to Tiffany oval tad necklace priced at $179 but agreed to sell for $99.

        Anyway, thanks for sharing your experience; hopefully you will save a lot of people’s sanity and prevent bad headaches.

  • 11. Boriana  |  January 30, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    oops, I meant ‘oval tag’ not ‘oval tad’

    Agree,
    “the spelling jewelry vs. jewellery, depends on where the person using the term comes from or where the term is being utilized. The spelling ‘jewellery’ is the proper British English spelling while the spelling ‘jewelry’ was created by the Americans and part of their English. These differences are not unlike several other words you see that vary between British and American spellings such as colour or favour.

    Reply
    • 12. thinkingshift  |  February 1, 2012 at 7:51 am

      Well now, there’s a great idea Boriana – buy Tiffany jewellery from your local pawn shop. Never thought of that!

      And yep, “jewellery” is the British spelling. We follow the British spelling rule – the final consonant of a word is doubled when its added suffix begins with a vowel. No idea why it became “jewelry” in the US mainly.

      Reply
  • 13. toogoodtobetrue  |  March 13, 2012 at 3:45 am

    No disrespect to anyone but I was redirected to the outlet site when trying to go to the regular Tiffany site and immediately knew it was fake.

    When cufflinks purchased on the real Tiffany site are $400 but only $68 on the outlet site, pretty much everyone should see the red flag. Again, no disrespect but as they say, if it’s too good to be true…

    I admit that I have the advantage of being a long time Tiffany customer.

    Reply
    • 14. thinkingshift  |  March 13, 2012 at 6:43 am

      No disrespect taken 🙂 I think though if you are a regular Tiffany customer, you’re more aware of prices and so on. But the real issue for me is the ripping off (legally speaking) of the Tiffany brand, their reputation, use of their name/trademark etc etc. Same goes for the rip offs of other brands like Louis Vuitton, Prada and so on.

      Reply
  • 15. starlight 571001  |  March 21, 2012 at 4:31 am

    Thank you so much for posting this. came upon this site and thought about getting somthing, but i thought to myself ” i should google them first… thank you i will stick to the real tiffany’s….

    Reply
  • 16. Joni  |  March 22, 2012 at 2:10 am

    Thanks for posting.
    Hope things work out for you.

    Reply
  • 17. Louise  |  March 28, 2012 at 5:11 am

    I have just read your blog and the same thing happened to me I ordered a Tiffany & Co bangle and I got a bangle but not the one I ordered as it was for my daughter for her birthday I couldn’t do anything about it. I have learnt my lesson and now I only order from the real website which I have done before. Your are right there has to be someone out there that should be able to stop this sort of thing.

    Reply
    • 18. thinkingshift  |  March 28, 2012 at 5:58 am

      Each time someone leaves a comment Louise – I get further annoyed with these shonky Chinese websites. I am tracking down what Tiffany & Co (the real one) is doing about all this: where do they stand with suing the asses off these shonky traders? When I know more: I’ll do an update post.

      Reply
  • 19. Tina  |  March 28, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    Who seriously has a @Gmail.com customer service account? ((( tiffanycompanservice@gmail.com ))) What kind of e-mail is that? Seriously, your e-mail has “Company” spelled wrong in your e-mail, probably b/c the real Tiffany’s bought out all of the domain names – IDOTS!! Cheep Rip-Off Company! My bet is that this stuff isn’t even real Silver, it’s probably similar to the knock-offs you get in Mexico, but at least in Mexico they are usually are sterling silver, not some plated fake metal that will go off in the metal detector at the airport. There are numerous punctuation and spelling errors on this site, improper grammar and unparalleled wording. DO NOT PURCHASE any “Tiffany’s Outlet” products!!!! Look at the very bottom of the page, look at all of their “key words” just so they come up in searches people do on Google. ((( Tiffany and Co Tiffany Outlet Tiffany Jewelry Tiffany & Co Tiffany 1837 Bracelets Tiffany Necklaces Tiffany Bangles Tiffany Rings Tiffany Charms Tiffany Earrings))) Anytime someone searches one of these words this Fake site will appear!! Bottom line — YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR — so if you pay $40 and the real price is $400 it really is too good to be true. Don’t get Scammed!! be a smart online shopper!! save your money, and just get the real thing 🙂

    Reply
    • 20. Audrey  |  February 17, 2014 at 10:18 pm

      FYI – Tiffany’s rigorously goes after counterfeiters! If you know of any copyright infringement going on contact Tiffany’s @ trademarkenforcementteam@tiffany.com

      Reply
  • 21. Mariola  |  April 28, 2012 at 12:31 am

    Thank you very much for this post ,, I was about to buy some gifts from T&Co outlet ,, I will not do such a thing after reading your post . Thanks again
    Masegus

    Reply
  • 22. Jody  |  June 10, 2012 at 2:28 am

    Anyone who got ripped off it’s your own fault if you had half a brain and not let greed get in the way it wouldn’t of happened

    Reply
  • 23. Esperanza  |  July 5, 2012 at 1:45 am

    Great to read all your feedback. I was shocked to me my Tiffany earrings on sale in this website for $80. I was suspicious because mines are authentic and they come in 18k gold while the ones on the website are silver.
    Also noticed that the pictures are identical to the real product, however now I know they ship you their production which is different from the pictures.
    Finally, the logo is different from the authentic Tiffany one.

    Reply
  • 24. a.tinkerer  |  September 5, 2012 at 12:51 am

    Please stay away from this company-it’s a total scam!!! Everything is fake – they simply copied Tiffany’s advertising (by the way, Tiffany should sue them) with no interests of copying the real work of art.

    I ordered Elsa Peretti’s open bottle pendant from them. When the item arrived, it was completely fake – instead of roundish shape it was almost square and instead of an open bottle, the damn thing was closed on the top! I sent an email, and a woman named “Abby” responded. She said if I return the item, she will refund the purchase. So I did returned the item which was costly as it’s overseas. She never replied until I asked again and then instead of giving the refund, she asked me to file a dispute with paypal so paybal can investigate and refund (what kind of merchant in their right mind would do that except for scammers who hope that if they put up the hurdles somehow you’ll stop at some point?). Clearly the business model is to get enough one-timers.

    Hope first-time shoppers will read all these comments and together we’ll drive samers like this out of the business!

    At the same time, since I am taking it up with Paypal, it would be interesting to see how Paypal deals with scammers like this.

    Reply
    • 25. thinkingshift  |  September 5, 2012 at 2:37 am

      Can you keep us all posted on PayPal’s response? It’s not good enough that consumers are caught in between the dishonest scumbag scammers and PayPal. I’m hoping PayPal will work to resolve – let’s see.

      Reply
      • 26. a.tinkerer  |  September 7, 2012 at 1:03 am

        Paypal insists it’s over 45 days and hence they will not do anything about it. Instead, they asked me to read their “Seller Protection Program” and ask that I file a complain with IC3 instead (http://www.ic3.gov/complaint/default.aspx).

        My comment is that Paypal doesn’t understand that buyers are the ultimate customers! Any credit card company could have done a better job.

        Going forward, I would use credit cards instead of Paypal – credit card companies have much better customer service and dispute process!

      • 27. thinkingshift  |  September 7, 2012 at 7:07 am

        Thx for the update. I’ve heard comments like this about PayPal before. Asking you to read their Seller Protection Program is lame indeed. So obviously not much is going to protect us against from shoddy Chinese scam artists. The only thing really to protect us is…US. Let’s not support these Chinese fraudsters!!

      • 28. a.tinkerer  |  September 22, 2012 at 4:03 pm

        All,

        I would like to let everyone know that after I told them about my comments and this forum, Paypal escalated the matter as an exception – since it was over 45 days and investigated the dispute with the merchant and decided to refund the purchases.

        Thank you for the forum – in addition for people to share experiences, it also helps to harness the power of collective opinion and sentiments that may influence how big companies act in response.

      • 29. thinkingshift  |  September 22, 2012 at 8:09 pm

        Excellent!! And I’m very happy our combined tales of woe at the hands of shonky Chinese websites has resulted in ACTION by PayPal. Now, all we have to do is shut down all the shonky websites!

  • 30. jan peterson  |  September 30, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    Thanks for this blog, I wanted to save some money so I went looking for an outlet. I found the heart necklace, but their original price was listed at $300. sale for $65 while the store is selling for $125. Things just didn’t seem right. While reading the terms, I notice the webmaster had left in a shoe company name in one of the sentences. …RUN RUN far away from this site!

    Reply
    • 31. thinkingshift  |  September 30, 2012 at 7:15 pm

      Well that’s very sloppy work on their part and great spotting on your part Jan!! Thanks for alerting us. We are building up quite a nice catalog of “beware” stories here.

      Reply
  • 32. Barbara McLoughlin  |  October 31, 2012 at 3:16 am

    My daughter got ripped off by this phoney company. REMEMBER, if it sounds to good to be true, it is.

    Reply
  • 33. Melissa Neumann  |  November 14, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Thank you. Was checking them out before I ordered anything. Glad I did 🙂

    Reply
  • 34. Bianca  |  November 22, 2012 at 2:34 am

    Thank you! I was just about to order something from them. Unfortunately they’re still online 😦 too bad our dream doenst come true that there’s a tiffany outlet 😉 all the best from germany

    Reply
  • 35. Sherry Stafford  |  December 10, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    Don’t order from the site you will get taken. I ordered 3 items and didn’t get the ones I ordered. Two e-mails, no response, they have my money. If it says anything about Shanghi or international express mail, stay away. They don’t take credit cards but accepted my debit. They have my money and I have wrong jewelry and no response from them.

    Reply
    • 36. thinkingshift  |  December 11, 2012 at 7:31 am

      Hi Sherry. Thanks for telling us your story – SO many of us have been fleeced by these crooks. I really want to know why the REAL Tiffanys hasn’t shut them down by now. Tiffanyoutlet (or whatever name they are going by) are nothing more than rip off merchants and crooks. DO NOT buy any Tiffany jewellery from anybody other than the REAL Tiffanys http://www.tiffany.com/International.aspx?&

      Reply
  • 37. Busyboysmom  |  December 20, 2012 at 3:00 am

    Thank you for this blog! You just saved me $800.00! I was just getting ready to order and that little voice (the one you are told to listen to) said something can’t be right. I was sure this site was real because they emailed me. Didn’t look for them. And it looked so legit! I started noticing a few odd things on the site as far as secure and contact info etc so I googled and even though this company name isn’t an exact match I have a feeling it’s all the same just a new name. http://Www.topstiffany.com. Take a look. It is so luring and realistic. They made it sound like they were a special wholesaler.
    Sooooo glad I didn’t input my card info! Thank You!!!!!! I appreciate you!!!! T

    Reply
    • 38. thinkingshift  |  December 20, 2012 at 9:25 am

      Well, happy to help you avoid giving your hard-earned money to these shonky Chinese scam artists. I’m not going to give things away – just in case the shonky Chinese read this – but if you read the bottom part of the website http://Www.topstiffany.com under Easy & Safe Online Shopping, you can immediately tell it’s a crap Chinese website that is just waiting to grab your money and RUN.

      Reply
      • 39. Audrey  |  February 17, 2014 at 10:17 pm

        FYI – Tiffany’s rigorously goes after counterfeiters! If you know of any copyright infringement going on contact Tiffany’s @ trademarkenforcementteam@tiffany.com

  • 40. Carolyn  |  January 14, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    Thank you for your blog. I have been eyeing the Tiffany & Co Heart Toggle bracelet for some time, but just haven’t ordered….sketchy. But…the site I have been looking at, I believe is the same Tiffany & Co outlet store you are referring too. I ALMOST BOUGHT FROM THEM! What crap. Here is the web address of the new site. I don’t know if it’s the same as before, but I just wanted to put it out there for future ref. just in case someone else stumbles onto your blog. http://www.tiffanyoutletstore.org/

    Reply
    • 41. thinkingshift  |  January 15, 2013 at 1:49 am

      Carolyn, thx for the info. Looks like the same shonky Chinese website operating again. But everyone – just read this para at the bottom of their Home page: “Tiffany Outlet was initial provided within the 1840s. Dressing table sets and gift things have attracted prospects in the starting with its particular style along with the stunning workmanship. Tiffany Outlet Store demand was especially high within the 1800s and remains so inside the 21st century, even together with the rather higher initial cost of most pieces.”

      I’m LMAO at the Chinglish – a dead giveaway that you’re dealing with fake Tiffany rubbish and shonky Chinese.

      Reply
      • 42. starlight 571001  |  January 17, 2013 at 3:22 am

        The tiffany outlet is such a scam… i almost brought something from them myself. thank god! i didn’t. i say stick to tiffanys offical websit and store. i just purshased my first piece of tiffanys jewelry and i love it! and i recived great service from them….

    • 43. Audrey  |  February 17, 2014 at 10:16 pm

      FYI – Tiffany’s rigorously goes after counterfeiters! If you know of any copyright infringement going on contact Tiffany’s @ trademarkenforcementteam@tiffany.com

      Reply
  • 44. Emily Hulett  |  March 10, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    So glad I came across this bc I’ve came across two of these sites! I got all the way to paying and an error would come up saying they couldn’t take my credit card and to use the other visa symbol even though I was using a visa. Thought something was fishy!

    Reply
  • 45. Lucy  |  April 4, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    Does anyone know if the tiffanyfreeruns.net website is a scam?

    Reply
  • 46. Jen K  |  April 28, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    http://tiffany.vvebs.net/

    I found your blog when I was searching to see if a Tiffany Outlet was a real thing. The website listed above is supposedly a real Tiffany Outlet, but I wanted to see what others thought/knew about it. I buy Tiffany directly from the store, so I wasn’t really planning on buying anything but a little index finger ring for myself. But I definitely don’t want to fall into a trap!

    Reply
  • 47. Kim B  |  May 28, 2013 at 3:11 am

    Boy am I glad I found you guys! I was about to order some things because it all looked so legitimate but obviously like everyone says , if it looks to good to be true it probably is! Thanks everyone!

    Reply
  • 48. Carol-lynne Olsen  |  August 1, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    Just read your entire post…I saw a pin on pinterest and continued on to the website…I couldn’t believe the prices and was skeptical! I emailed the company asking if they sold authentic Tiffany products or if they were replicas…never heard back from them…after reading your posts, I now know why!!! I’m sorry you were duped but thankful you are helping others!!!

    Reply
  • 49. Ann Johnson  |  October 13, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    Ok. I stumbled across this forum by accident and decided to read the majority of the responses. I usually don’t make comments on these things, but I am compelled to do so this time. So, I think that a lot of people get the gist that these websites are scams. And they are right. I am not dismissing or minimizing anyone’s situation. It sucks and the people running these scams should be punished. The only part of this forum that irks me is that I must have seen the word “shonky” a dozen times. What kind of word is that? And is it necessary to repeat it over and over to describe these scams? I have ordered “imitations” before, but I knew that they were exactly that-imitations. If you cannot or do not want to spend the money for the real stuff, there are websites that do sell nice imitations and they tell you up front that they are not the real thing. But they do look nice and are made with real silver. They just don’t have the Tiffany name imprinted on them. Those items that I bought in the past were pieces that were not part of the 1837 line. I am sorry for those who got scammed. But in this day and age, it is necessary to always use caution when ordering stuff on the Internet. It is “shonky” to try to get something authentic for an unrealistic price.

    Reply
  • 50. trudy  |  December 18, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    I got scammed as well. I found an item my daughter pinned on pinterest and clicked on it to get to the site. Never having bought from Tiffany’s, I didn’t realize the site was fake, the websites pics looked genuine. I asked for my order to be cancelled within an hour of placing it. They responded OK. Then I got the shipping notice. I complained again and they told me to wait until I got the item and then return it. When I got it, it was nothing like the photo, I emailed again for the rtn shipping address and was given it but was told I had to pay the return shipping plus 10% fee and “as xmas coming, it will take long time for the package to our hands, hope you can be patient.” I’m thinking I’ll send it via DHL so it doesn’t take “long time” and to have proof of them receiving it.

    Reply
    • 51. thinkingshift  |  December 19, 2013 at 9:00 am

      Sorry to hear you were scammed Trudy. That’s why I think the comments underneath this post are an excellent way of alerting people. Unfortunately, many of us (including me) are way too trusting and can get caught. I doubt you’ll get a refund; I never did. I got the same type of message (it was either Easter or Xmas is coming) and the request to pay return shipping. What a joke. They send you rubbish, they mislead you and then demand you pay up more money. I hope one day to see all these scammers shut down!

      Reply
  • 52. kristi  |  December 24, 2013 at 7:15 am

    My boyfriend (bless his heart) ordered necklaces for his daughters. They weren’t the right ones, and there is not any contact info to ask for a exchange–I mean refund. He lost 100.00 They should be banned from the internet!

    Reply
  • 53. Audrey  |  February 17, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    Thank you for this blog!!! Buyer Beware! There is a lot of counterfeit Tiffany & Co. jewelry out there!!! FYI – Tiffany’s rigorously goes after counterfeiters! If you know of any copyright infringement going on contact Tiffany’s @ trademarkenforcementteam@tiffany.com

    Reply
  • 54. Linda Gilliland  |  February 23, 2014 at 10:20 pm

    I had exactly the same experience with these people last year. I was told the item l ordered was not in stock. l told them l was going to contact Tiffany’s and consumer affairs to have them shut down. It took a few emails but l managed to get my money refunded. I think l am one of the lucky ones.

    Reply
    • 55. thinkingshift  |  February 23, 2014 at 10:23 pm

      You are indeed lucky Linda. I never had any success getting a refund – good on you for being persistent!

      Reply
  • 56. michelle  |  April 15, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    I was about to buy a bangle from an out-let site when I came across your information. I,m soooo glad I did. I,m after a Tiffany cuff bangle and was so close to buying it for only $69, but the price alone made me suspicious, and that’s when I read your experience.

    Reply
  • 57. Lynette  |  December 2, 2014 at 8:45 am

    They change their names, yesterday it was tiffanyonline, now that doesnt exisit. Today its tiffanylovestore, scammed big time, I knew it was too good to be true.

    Reply
  • 58. Amanda Marriott  |  December 3, 2014 at 1:58 am

    I’m so glad I looked into this. I found the site through a ad on facebook and I was so excited! I’ve always wanted something from Tiffany’s and they had the most beautiful pearl necklace and diamond earrings for 69$ I thought the website was poorly done but I blew it off. I thought these amazing prices must be because of Black Friday, but then I kept looking for information on the diamonds and there was none- no info on the pearl either. So I googled it and the real Tiffany and Co site popped up. Yup that’s more like what I would expect. So I googled the outlet site and sure enough your article popped up- the only one- thank you so much for warning me. If not for your warning I may have taken a chance- clung to hope. Now I know better and I might just spring for the real deal. Thank you so much.

    -Let down but glad I didn’t waste the money.

    Reply
  • 59. Carey Ann Hileman-Newell  |  December 8, 2014 at 7:08 am

    Ummm nice Ok well I guess I just got took..waiting on a bracelet I ordered. It took me 2 whole days to decide to order. I should have know. 79.00 down the drain.

    Reply
  • 60. Jeslyn  |  December 26, 2014 at 9:08 am

    Is this another fake online store? http://www.tiffanylovestore.com/

    Reply
    • 61. Mardy  |  January 4, 2015 at 11:10 am

      My husband received an actual email from support@adage.rjzrtec.com for this same website. I dont know if its a fake but we got the email?

      Reply
      • 62. Jayne  |  February 10, 2015 at 3:29 pm

        Yes does anybody know if tiffanyonline-britain.com also a scam site?

      • 63. thinkingshift  |  February 14, 2015 at 6:19 am

        Scam Jayne, scam.

  • 64. Mardy  |  January 4, 2015 at 11:08 am

    Hi my husband received an email from an email from support@adage.rjzrtec.com email address for this same website. Is it a fake , does anyone know please?

    Reply
  • 65. Jane  |  January 7, 2015 at 5:44 am

    All sites would sell the fakes – except the official Tiffany & Co online shop. The real question is people don’t want to pay full price, so we find alternatives. There are some places that actually sell good ‘versions’ of the real Tiffany & Co pieces, which makes T&Co nuts, like myself, make it hard to pick out which is official and which is not genuine.

    http://www.cheaptiffanyonline.com/

    Reply
  • 66. Jane  |  January 7, 2015 at 5:52 am

    If you want to know how you can pick out fake Tiffany & Co pieces, read this article – http://www.ebay.com/gds/How-To-Spot-Fake-Tiffany-Co-Jewelry-/10000000001630317/g.html. It has helped me when I was questioning authenticity,

    Reply
  • 67. Lyn Carracher  |  March 11, 2015 at 7:40 am

    Yes I was ripped off by them too-$200.00 worth- my daughter’s Christmas present. Sent back pieces but of course no replies to my emails- pieces would be valued under $1.00- utter crap!!

    Reply
    • 68. thinkingshift  |  March 11, 2015 at 9:08 pm

      I’ve just completed an interview with Associated Press and one of my readers will also be interviewed on TV (who was the victim of Tiffany Outlet). I will have more details to share with you soon.

      Reply
  • 69. stephanie poet  |  March 12, 2015 at 8:14 pm

    can someone help me i ordered from this scam GOT MY stuff what junk so i contacted and they wanted to give me a discount to keep the stuff i said no im returning it i kept emailing asking if they received my package they said no its been since the end of Dec. so i tried again here and now the website isnt responding. im probably out 100 bucks i should have just took the discount =-(

    Reply
    • 70. thinkingshift  |  March 14, 2015 at 6:58 pm

      I’m afraid Stephanie that your experience is the same as mine and many others. Did you try to cancel the payment via your credit card provider? Best you can do now is tell them an interview is about to appear in an Associated Press newspaper pretty soon that will expose them. Soon as the article is published, I will share the link on this blog.

      Reply
  • 71. mikki222@ymail.com  |  April 10, 2015 at 8:06 am

    I just about bought a ring on this site.. http://www.tiffanyluxuryjewelry.com/ when I was quickly discouraged by a friend who had worked for Tiffany & Co. who said Tiffany does not have outlet stores, or wholesale markets, and they make nothing in China… this site looks a lot like the official Tiffany site … I asked my friend why Tiffany and Co doesn’t go after them and she said Tiffany is an elitist company of only high quality items, they dont devalue their product with sales and they expect their customers to educate themselves about Tiffany and about what they choose to purchase… All I could say is “oh” and sit there and feel poor…LOL

    Reply
    • 72. thinkingshift  |  April 11, 2015 at 7:45 pm

      Well, whilst I understand Tiffany’s attitude to some extent, I would have hoped they would take legal action to shut down these sites. I think they have taken action in several instances.

      Reply
  • 73. chanluuco  |  July 29, 2015 at 8:10 am

    Well, whilst I understand Tiffany’s attitude to some extent, I would have hoped they would take legal action to shut down these sites. I think they have taken action in several instances.

    Reply
  • 74. chanluuco  |  July 29, 2015 at 8:11 am

    Well, whilst I understand Tiffany’s attitude to some extent, I would have hoped they would take legal action to shut down these sites. I think they have taken action in several instances.

    equesnel.com/tiffany.asp

    Reply
  • 75. Eileen  |  December 12, 2015 at 8:23 am

    THANK YOU ALL FOR KEEPING ME FROM MAKING A HUGE MISTAKE!!! THIS EXPLAINS CLEARLY NOW, WHY IT WAS IN MY SPAM BOX

    Reply
  • 76. Orly  |  November 22, 2016 at 5:23 am

    I just fell into this scam myself but realized my mistake later in the day and notices the fake URL and the fake email address. I managed to void the transaction and cancelled my card. Too bad Tiffany has that attitude and would not care to protect their customers.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Search ThinkingShift

   Made in New Zealand
     Thinkingshift is?

Flickr Photos

 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia License.

ThinkingShift Book Club


Kimmar - Find me on Bloggers.com